Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 plus motor stopped

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kiwi68, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. Kiwi68

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Motor in my phantom 2 has stopped after a grass take off and roll over .

    It won't start up so I changed the motor but still no go

    Should I change the motor card
     
  2. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    I presume you checked all the solder joints even the ESC wires to the main board? You maybe had a suspect wobbly joint there somewhere hanging on by a thread that the tip over may have given a critical nudge. I have never heard of a tip over trashing an ESC.
     
  3. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Happened to me on my second flight after landing on uneven ground :(
     
  4. Kiwi68

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya i have gone all over the joints

    I have just ordered the 2312 motor CW for a replacement and I have just ordered the ESC card and i noticed its a V@ do i have to change all the cards to V2
     
  5. Kiwi68

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you have to replace the ESC card??
     
  6. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Yes. I also performed resistance / shortcircuit tests on the motor and that looked OK so I kept it and soldered it up to the new (v2.1) ESC.
     
  7. Kiwi68

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks
     
  8. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Thee's another topic in "General" about hand catching. Here's a prime example of why you want to hand catch. Sooner or later, you'll tip it over when landing on the ground. It's just a matter of time. The damage you can do to your motors and ESCs can make those cool looking ground landings a bit expensive... :shock:

    -slinger
     
  9. Kiwi68

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it can get expensive
    This was my fith flight so still a learner but enjoying the challenge. But yes need to master the hand catch ASAP
     
  10. Eltrochaphantom

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uruguay
    WHEN DID U GUYS BUY YOUR PHANTOM SINCE I VE NOTICED THAT PEOPLE WHO BOUGHT THEIR PHANTOM BEFORE DECEMBER ARE HAVING THIS PROBS. PEOPLE WHO BOUGHT IT DECEMBER ONWARDS DON'T HAVE THIS ISSUE
     
  11. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    If you are saying that the new ESCs dont suffer from this. . .Not true.
     
  12. Eltrochaphantom

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uruguay
    I VE seen people who DON'T have nothing inscripted on their white stickers in the ESC. They are having probs whereas the ones who have the v2.0 on the white sticker don't have a problem
     
  13. Eltrochaphantom

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uruguay
    Remember on the white sticker not on the PCB board next to the capacitor
     
  14. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Having problems answering this. Forgive me. You emphasised DONT, but do you mean
    "dont have nothing inscripted"
    or
    "dont have anything inscripted"

    I think you mean the latter, but the two questions may have different answers.
     
  15. Eltrochaphantom

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uruguay
    My mistake. Don't have anything inscripted.

    The autocorrector sometimes puts the words in caps
     
  16. Eltrochaphantom

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uruguay
    Okay now u confused me! Loooool

    I meant:

    Don't have anything inscripted
     
  17. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    I had a problem with a V2.0 ESC which did not have V2.0 written on it. A tip over took the ESC out.