Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 Just Won't Go Up!!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by pilkiwilky, May 25, 2014.

  1. pilkiwilky

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just got a phantom 2.

    My second phantom.

    I'm fairly experienced so I know this is not normal.

    I took my phantom 2 for a few test flights.. Everything seemed normal.

    Then yesterday I did the same and the phantom would not stay in the 10 m radius for hover.

    Then I started moving it and it just started decending and hit the ground.

    GPS mode was flipped up, I had a home lock... Green lights flashing.

    Battery was at 100%. both switches on the controls were flipped up.

    I did a compass calibration successfully.


    So I swapped out batteries for another at full charge.

    It went up 3-4 feet then without me telling it to, just came straight down.

    Not the controlled decent like the self landing when it does a down, stop, down, stop, but straight down and hit the ground.


    Stock props... H3 3d gimball and go pro.

    Nothing else on it.


    Tries a IMU re calibration successfully.

    Still happens.


    Please help

    Thx!
     
  2. macheung

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    Have u calibrated your tx?
     
  3. pilkiwilky

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please explain what TX is and how I would calibrate that?

    Thanks!
     
  4. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    Tx is transmitter.... could be its batteries too or aerial ...try calibrating first you need to open it to get at the USB socket...

    Sent from the thing that does everything.
     
  5. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    Its a phantom 2, the usb port should be on the outside at the bottom of controller. Connect CONTROLLER to computer and run the rc assistant software (not the phantom assistant software). Calibrate in there. Then connect PHANTOM to computer, run phantom assistant software and recalibrate everything again in there.

    It might not be your problem of course but start there.
     
  6. pilkiwilky

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I connected my p2 to thec computer and fired up the RC control software and see the calibration button, but my sticks are not showing up on the screen like they do in the P2 software.

    Also when I hit the calibration button, it does nothing... There is an instruction on the left of the screen that says to hit the next button but there is no such button on screen.

    I'm still not sure this is related... As my sticks work just fine... Took the P2 out for another flight yesterday... It seemsed to work fine for 2-3 mins, up, down, left, right... Then the decent started and I tried going up and it was unresponsive and came straight down. Luckily I caught it.
     
  7. tom3holer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Cod, Ma.
    You do not connect the P2 to the RC system assistant, you connect the Transmitter/controller. There should be a illuminated green light and a blinking blue light. If you don't see them then the s/w is not seeing the controller.

    Tom