Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 Error in Start Motors

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by ErnieMcKracken, Aug 10, 2014.

  1. ErnieMcKracken

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have recently purchased a Phantom 2 (non-Vision). I went through all the steps to make my 1st flight and cannot get motors to start. I have updated software on Phantom and Calibrated controller.
    The error I am getting
    Going through the entire Start up process.
    1. When going to start the motors i have Green lights on Phantom.
    2. When I pull Stick down and to the corner, I get 2 Red light Flashes. I try again and get 2 Red Lights each time. The motors do not start.
    3. I have not made any flights with Phantom at this time. I have not been able to start motors
    4. I have gone through this Quick start guide process at least 10 times and end with the same results. 2 red flashes when trying to start motors with no success.
    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. HarryT

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    Could be a battery problem. Are you able to try a different battery?
     
  3. westray

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Airth,Scotland
    Are you within 5 miles of an airport.If you are then,with the latest firmware,your phantom will not start.
     
  4. sijbren

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  5. ErnieMcKracken

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I purchase an additional battery.

    I have tried with both batteries and the result is the same. Two Red Flashes when trying to start motors.
     
  6. ErnieMcKracken

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried all the combination to start the motors with the same result. I have no airports within the 5 mile radius. I was having issue before the firmware update. I updated hoping it would take care of the issue it did not.
    Thanks for the suggestions for fixing the problem. Keep them coming. One will eventually work I am sure.
     
  7. westray

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Airth,Scotland
    In your original post you said you had never had a chance to fly as you could not get the motors to start.What problems were you having beforehand?
     
  8. ErnieMcKracken

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had no problems with the Phantom up until I try to start the motors. I have never been able to start the motors.
     
  9. westray

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Airth,Scotland
    I know this is not the best answer,but I suggest you take it back to your supplier,either that or find someone close to you with more experience to double check the quad.Where do you stay?
     
  10. sijbren

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Maybe one of the controller sticks reversed (by mistake) in the assistant software?
     
  11. ErnieMcKracken

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am in Atlanta and if i do not get a fix today I will take it back to the shop i purchased to have them look at it.
     
  12. westray

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Airth,Scotland
    Best idea I think.Let us know how you get on.
     
  13. ErnieMcKracken

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried everything and no luck. I will be returning the unit and getting another. Thanks for all the help
     
  14. Bluegrass

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had motor running problems too. This is a post I posted else where. It drove me crazy and trouble shot the motors not starting for over twelve house. It was cause by the wrong mode number activated during an RC calibration which caused the speed lever to be switched with one of the other levers on my RC.

    Other post:
    Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition. I can't believe something that was undocumented in any manual anywhere seems to have been a problem I fought for almost 12 hours. I could shoot the documentation staff at DJI. In the RC Assistant software when doing a calibration on the transmitter, there is a place to choose mode 1 or mode 2. If you go through the calibration with the wrong mode chosen the led on the transmitter will turn green and you will no longer be able to start the motors. I need to go back through the calibration a couple times but I swear that id needed to be in one mode for firmware 3.04 and a different mode for firmware 3.06. At any rate I got the motor working and my red light back.
     
  15. maiphuoc

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I think I got in the same issue with you. After calibrate the RC. The light turn to yellow.
    It looks like that: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kixgLVDaegA
    Then, I turn the phantom on and the cannot start the motor as well. I think I did click on Mode 1 & Mode 2 several times when I calibrated.

    I tried to calibrate again & again with Mode 2. But it is still yellow light. So how can I fix that?
    My phantom 2 is at firmware 3.6.

    Please email me: maiphuoc177@gmail.com. I really need your help

    Thanks a lot.