Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. skyview adventures

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know what happened to this setting? I know what smart return to home is but that's different to the previous dynamic home point. I moved away from the takeoff point yesterday and it returned to the initial home point not the new location!
     
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,933
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Yes. Dynamic Homepoint was discontinued after the P2 series. The P3 has a work around. I don't know about the P4.
     
  3. ronkyler1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed mine was gone the other day too. I read in a post somewhere that it was moved In the latest app update to the drop down menu - I think I read the one of the quad in the upper left. I haven't checked yet to verify.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    DJI GO never had a dynamic home point setting. The setting to manually reset the home point has been moved to the top of the "MC Settings". You'll only see it when your Phantom is connected to the DJI GO app.
     
  5. Ramphex

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You can set your homepoint as the take off point or as your controller location from the DJI GO app. I'm going to go ahead and say setting the RC as home point would be similar to what the Dynamic homepoint used to be.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    The P2 dynamic home point setting auto sets the home point to the mobile device's current location throughout the flight.
     
    #6 msinger, Apr 3, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016
  7. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,933
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    I gotta call ya on that one bro.

    The P2V's dynamic homepoint is auto set every few seconds to the location of the mobile device, not the location of the phantom.

    Page 33 of my P2V manual. ;)
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    I edited my comment to correct it. Thanks, bro.
     
  9. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,933
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    First error I've seen you make since last summer. Not too bad...
     
  10. Ramphex

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    See I never had any previous generations of Phantoms. So it's pretty much an automatic function for the current setting RC as home point function?
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    Is this a question? If so, can you rephrase it?
     
  12. Ramphex

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Does the Dynamic Homepoint function pretty much automatically update location of RC as a home point instead of the manual option we have now?
     
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
    Right. The idea is to allow the Phantom to always RTH to your location. People use it (for example) to fly their Phantom from a moving boat.
     
  14. Ramphex

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Oh that's a good feature. Wonder why they removed it.
     
  15. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    You could load up the Phantom with some (wee bit of) explosive, hide the controller in the car and have it land on the car when the battery ran out. Something any self respecting terrorist would think of.

    Can't have that.

    (Probably because it's hard - the RC has to tell the Phantom where it is. If you have dodgy comms it may fail and the Phantom might go off in a random direction.)

    Or else aliens.
     
    Ramphex likes this.
  16. Ramphex

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    239
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  17. mattyd58

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Hartford, Connecticut
    est Remote control Dual driver 1800W cheap electric skateboard for sale

    10 Piece(s) US $ 320
    NO. This weekend I experimented with the Smarts RTH. It is nothing like DYNAMIC, not at all. SMART lets the drone determine distance and conditions that will prevent its safe return. Great feature but not, for me, as useful as Dynamic RTH. SMART shows the movement of the RC and its current position. However, when RTH is activated the bird returns to the initial home point – whether set standard, by activating props or by using the RC as home point. Either way, in RTH, bird returns to the original set point. Doesn’t matter the current RC location. Anyone have a work around PLEASE let me know. I film in some challenging areas and really need more control. Same with P3 – any & all advice, suggestions, mods whatever are solicited. Just packed up and sold 80 lb. of pre-P3 stuff, drones, batteries, controllers, et. al. most modded. Thinking now it was a mistake. 3DR Solo sucks, Yuneec Typhoon has the best camera of all, including GoPro, but drone itself is a disappointment. Probably sell the Solo soon too. Anyway, Dynamic Home Point on P3 & P4 is needed. Please let me know of any success you’ve had getting it back. Thank you.
     
  18. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,933
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Yes, but setting the RC as the home point regularly, repeatedly, and routinely would be similar. Right? I think that was Ramphex's point. Inconvenient for sure, but similar nonetheless.