Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A will not hover in one spot..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JBJO, Feb 23, 2016.

  1. JBJO

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    18
    New guy here.. Thanks for all the good info...
    I have been experiencing quite a bit of "wandering" with my p3a.. As soon as I lift off It immediately drifts south for about 20 or 30 feet.. (not sure if this is normal).. I've tried calibrating it every time I turn it on and I even purchased a Dubro balancer to eliminate the possibility of unbalanced props...

    It wandered right into a tree today and it took a spill cracking the piece that holds the camera on..

    I made the dreaded call to DJI for advice and to my surprise .. A person picked up right away, and they were very nice.. Couldn't be happier with the service.. (spoke with Nathalie)..

    I did some thread searches and some people speak of an IMU calibration.. I have not done that yet and not sure what it is or how to do it... I guess I will research and attempt that when I get it back from DJI...

    Any thoughts on what else might be causing this thing to drift ?

    GB and be safe..
     
  2. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    Hello New Member.

    Make sure you're not in ATTI mode.
    Make sure you have good satellite lock
    Do the IMU calibration....make sure it's level when you do

    It drifts South no matter which way you have it pointed?
    Does it stop drifting after 20 - 30 feet or will it keep drifting if you don't intervene?

    PS..thoughts of you using your Phantom to vacuum up leaves came to mind from your title :)
    P3A will not Hoover in one spot..

    PS PS .... why the reference to George Bush ?
     
    #2 JKDSensei, Feb 23, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2016
  3. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Have you changed props from original DJI props?
     
  4. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    you let it wander in to a tree without trying to stop it ?
     
  5. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    1. Make SURE you are in P-GPS mode
    2. Check satellite count
    3. Calibrate compass and make sure no large metal objects in the area
    4. Check that rear LEDs are flashing green before takeoff, and that DJI GO has a green bar at the top reading "Safe to Fly (GPS)"
    5. IMU calibration
     
  6. JBJO

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    18
    LOL... Im at work trying to type quick without the boss knowing its not "work related"..
    Yes it would keep drifting if I didn't intervene...
    Pretty sure I was not in atti mode and I had 15 satellites...
    Its looking more and more like the "IMU" calibration..
     
  7. JBJO

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    18
    No , I did not just let it wonder into the tree, I was actually attempting to use it to trim the branches.
    :p
     
    JKDSensei likes this.
  8. JBJO

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    18
    looks like #5 might be my culprit based on the consensus... Thanks
     
  9. JBJO

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yes... I did in fact change the props... But, I replaced them with factory DJI props and balanced them before installation... Still possessed same drifting characteristics ..
     
  10. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    The only time I have ever had an issue with the Pro was when I installed some DJI(counterfeit) props. It did the same thing, drifting and not holding a hover.

    I also have never had to balance genuine DJI props.

    So just so we don't skim over and miss something, the props you installed are DJI OEM factory with the DJI logo and 9450 imprinted on prop?
     
  11. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    No worries....knew exactly what you meant :D
    Just messin wit da new guy