Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Other Free Vision+ Range Booster it works that good?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by wklee, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. wklee

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    They probably work. You just need to test them.

    I don't work for CSI, but I'm pretty sure they copied the code from PVFLyer's mate who had the original Vision + FPV Booster.
    I paid the premium knowing that he will further develop.
    I paid 10AUD and its money well spent. Some will say it's expensive for an app, but at a cost of just over a drink on a night out, it will make your FPV experience much more enjoyable.
    I am able to now achieve 640x480@15fps with less drop outs.

    Test the other ones out for me and let me know.
     
  3. wklee

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    I also saw the pro version at https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... utilitypro

    It enables encryption on the FPV WiFi .

    why would I need to encrypt the connection between the repeater and the FPV device?

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jAFLLyLlQY[/youtube]

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJMRtlB7t7o[/youtube]

    It enables encryption on the FPV WiFi .

    why would I need to encrypt the connection between the repeater and the FPV device?


     
  4. ocatcr

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    24
    yes there is difference.
     
  5. ocatcr

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    24
    Enabling the encryption is important. Because the range extender is accessible publicly, everyone could get access and take control your P2V+.

     
  6. ocatcr

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    24
    please take a look at this document http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Documentation/iw , http://www.jcraft.com/jsch/ to know how to change the transmit power.


     
  7. varmint

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hillsboro, OR
  8. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    Testing out your app this morning... vision boost works well... huge increase between stock and 100mw boost... extender boost has no effect at all between 0 and 20dBm values

    I like the layout of the app where the user gets to choose between multiple power levels that are numbered properly...

    Any chance of starting your own thread on this and working out the extender side?
     
  9. ocatcr

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    24
    Did you reset the repeater power after turning on the phantom? Any recommendation of the test equipment you are using?

     
  10. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    No I did not reset the repeater power after turning on the Phantom... I can try that here in about an hour or so.

    My tests were done with a Galaxy Note 3 using Android WiFi Analyzer app... shows good comparative rssi numbers for power output and the change on the Phantom output is very obvious... I will report back soon on the repeater output... thanks for the reply sir.


    EDIT:
    ok... did some more messing around and still not able to cause any change to the repeater output... The highest setting is 20dBm(100mw)... but the repeater is already putting out 20dBm so i don't expect to see any gain there... so I try to cut the power down to 10dBm... no change... cycle the power on the repeater and reconnect... try the change again... nothing... did this several times ... same result.

    The Phantom side is working like a boss... As soon as you select a power level you can see the signal increase or decrease in response to the command... As a matter of fact ... by setting the Phantom to 20dBm you can see the signal strength matches the strength of the repeater which makes sense because the repeater is rated at 20dBm... If I could get the repeater side to work my next suggestion was going to be to raise the repeater power level so there is actually some gain going on there...

    Any other suggestions or things I could try to get this working?
    I don't think I'm doing anything obviously wrong because I can get the power output changes on the Phantom working properly... hope this gets worked out... thanks again.
     
  11. varmint

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hillsboro, OR
    I like the additional flexibility of being able to set an arbitrary value, but the downside is it's all just doing it blindly with no intelligence. I personally have no idea if I'm increasing or decreasing range, which is the ultimate and obvious goal.

    FPVFlyer says his V1 booster is LOWERING power from default. I have no reason not to believe him, however that would be significantly lower than 20dBm. It would be nice if there were presets for various environments available, rather than/in addition to strictly raw values, as I don't see the utility here for the average user with no clue what they're achieving. As-is, it may in fact be making things significantly worse; Many users will simply max it thinking "better."

    It would also be nice to be able to change the wifi channel, or better, some kind of diversity intelligence that checks against latency, S/N, and makes adjustments or something.
     
  12. ocatcr

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    24
    Test their apps first before making a conclusion.

    the interference control will be implemented.

     
  13. varmint

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hillsboro, OR
    I don't remember saying I didn't own this? Fact is, I do, and my conclusion is that it needs more thought put into the UI. It's far too vague as-is, and it's unlikely to help most people that use it, due to the ambiguity surrounding TX power. They have nothing to base their selections on.
     
  14. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    I think he was saying to test the other apps first before coming to the conclusion that one lowers the power... I tested that app and it boosts the phantom as well...

    I do agree that more info on these apps will really help in the long run... which is one of the reasons why I like the layout of this one in particular with all it's boost level numbers layed out ... I don't like the dummy style apps that just have a magic button to push and give no idea of what is being done as far as power level... Looking forward to how this one plays out with more updates.
     
  15. KulliLutku

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look, can one of you prop-hats tell me why we need all these **** fancy apps for boosting the power, when we can simply SSH to the copter, and place the boost command "iw phy ph0...." into the file /etc/rc.local so it fires up every time the bird is booted automatically.

    WHY, do we need these apps?
     
  16. ocatcr

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    24
    we just started to study how to enable the 7th channel. the first thing we took a look at is how the DJI Phantom apps communicate with the phantom. as other members (eg.linuxkidd) stated, ser2net is used at port 2001 in the transmitter, and we tried to "cat" the packet sent out from the DJI Phantom apps and want to know how the packet format looks like. The packet format splits into 7 parts as

    2 bytes sof
    1 byte packet length
    1 byte ???
    2 bytes seq number
    1 bytes cmd
    - bytes data
    1 bytes checksum???

    thats what we found so far.
     
  17. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    Ease of use and temporary boost... I don't want my Phantom permanently boosted in case the mod somehow affects the ability to update later versions of firmware or something along those lines... like voided warranty due to goofing around with code... and if I'm gonna do a temporary boost each time I fly, I want it to be easy.
     
  18. varmint

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hillsboro, OR
    Ah! I stand corrected, thanks.
     
  19. varmint

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hillsboro, OR
    For port 2001, which contains telemetry according to linuxkidd, it could be (COULD BE) that it's encoded in the same way as the serial data coming directly from the GPS. If this is the case, somebody has already done some heavy-lifting, and hopefully some or all of it may be applicable : http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1995704

    Even if not directly applicable to 7th channel, it's definitely worth a look for obtaining, telemetry data. If telemetry can be tapped from the wifi and rebroadcast, it would open the door for a vast aray of ground-based utilities. Flytrex without flying an onboard unit anyone? Antenna tracking? GPS location finding. Endless... GET the TELEMETRY!
     
  20. KulliLutku

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ..said the man in the orthopedic shoes!

    A-HAAAA!!! :D