Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Not enough power for takeoff

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by easeman, Aug 10, 2014.

  1. easeman

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hadn't used my phantom for a while and tried using it yesterday and it didn't have enough power for a take-off. Tried several fully charged batteries, lights were all good but it didn't even look like taking off. I have been playing with it and fitted wide legs and Chinese camera gimble recently. I also removed the prop guards and started putting in the longer screws before realising they had bottomed out.
    I don't think weight is an issue but am concerned I may have damaged a motor with the long screw. Is there a way to test the motors as they are all spinning, hard to tell if all are same RPM.
    I made changes to the camera gimble settings in the software and wouldn't have thought that would be an issue.
    I also made use of the internal power lead to power the gimble.
    Any suggestions would be helpful.
     
  2. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re calibrate the radio in the firmware and make sure the sticks are working correctly. Might not be getting full throttle. Just a thought???
     
  3. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    Gimbal settings? Are you in the wrong forum? Or have you modded with a gimbal?
     
  4. jerrymac12000

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    What is the takeoff weight? Suggested limit is 1200 grams.
     
  5. easeman

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes as stated in the post I have added wide legs and a Chinese gimble.

    Sorry Im a relative newbie and it might be in the wrong forum
     
  6. easeman

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't weighed it but its all standard except the wide/long legs and a 2 axis gimble. I would have thought it was well under 1200g.
     
  7. easeman

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't appear to be getting full power. Would that involve opening the radio to access the USB plug?
     
  8. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    not per se. You can do a quick stick calibration in NAZAM assistant software.
    In case you do open the controller for a thorough calibration/check, be careful and don't break your antenna cable. I did when I opened it and it was stuck a bit. Janked the antenna cable off the Tx board when the bottom shell suddenly cam loose after applying a bit force.
     
  9. Cajvol94

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Calibrate it first like Lake Flyer says thur the Naza software when hooked to your phantom.