Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No follow me mode

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Snowie, Jan 14, 2016.

  1. Snowie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI
    I got a Ph3 Avd. I have it for a few month now and it goes well.
    I can't seem to activate follow me or waypoint modes. When i move the mode switch to F from P all i get is the smart IOC course lock mode. I had a look on you-tube. Everyone else's brings up a 'select your mode option'. when i do this it brings up a set the Orientation menu for the IOC

    I have turned on the enable flight mode on the advanced menu but nothing seems.

    what am i doing wrong?

    I have downloaded the latest drivers for the Quad and app

    Cheers
    Snow
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,591
    Location:
    US
    Which firmware version is listed for your aircraft in the "About" section of the DJI GO app?
     
  3. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Your aircraft firmware has to be at least version 1.4.10 or higher to have all of the IOC features available.

     
  4. Snowie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    In the 'About" section of the app

    App:2.50
    Remote controller: 1.5.70
    Aircraft:1.6.40
     
  5. bartold

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    31
    You have to be flying when you switch it.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,591
    Location:
    US
    Did you take off and ascend at least 10m before attempting to enable those modes? If that does not fix the issue, then try reinstalling the DJI GO app.
     
  7. Snowie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im pretty sure that i've done that and it come up with the orientation menu for th OIC. but ill check again
     
  8. Snowie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well here a funny thing.
    i just hooked up my iPad to the controller to get to the about page

    this is on the Ipad
    App:2.4.0
    Aircraft:1.2.6+
    RC:1.5.70

    how come there is a different setup between the aircraft on different controllers??

    The one i usually use is a Samsung Tablet

    I have reinstalled the update just to check and the report generated is





    Result: Success.

    ========== 2015.10.26 22:51:49 =====================
    Packet: P3S_FW_V01.03.0020.bin
    Upgrading ...
    Result: Success.

    ========== 2015.10.26 23:03:23 =====================
    Packet: P3S_FW_V01.03.0020.bin
    Result: Abort.
    The firmware on the SD card is identical to or older than the current firmware on the aircraft.

    ========== 2015.10.26 23:27:33 =====================
    Packet: P3S_FW_V01.03.0020.bin
    Result: Abort.
    The firmware on the SD card is identical to or older than the current firmware on the aircraft.

    ========== 2015.10.27 16:02:12 =====================
    Packet: P3S_FW_V01.03.0020.bin
    Upgrading ...
    Result: Success.

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:11 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3S_FW_V01.06.0040.bin
    Upgrading ...
    Result: Success.

    ========== 2016.01.15 22:46:46 =====================
    Packet: P3S_FW_V01.06.0040.bin
    Upgrading ...
    Result: Success.


    I haven't flown it today as it is raining to double check the function switch
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,591
    Location:
    US
    You're running an older version of DJI GO on your iPad. Try upgrading to the latest version.
     
  10. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Does your iPad have GPS? You need an iPad with cellular to have a GPS.

    If you do not have GPS on your iPad, you can't get follow me mode. Period.
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,591
    Location:
    US
    You can still see it in the DJI GO app though. The OP is saying the modes don't even appear.