Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

NO FLY ZONES.

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Lancelot, Aug 23, 2016.

  1. Lancelot

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am working for a company and will be making a video of a private jet being refuelled using their product, now i am going to be in a international airport, i have all of the necessary permissions, but i will be right inside the centre on the inner red circle. I heard if you put the phantom into ATTI mode i can fly because no satellites but i was wondering if their is any other way i can do this. any info would be appreciated.

    Thank you
     
    Sky Architect likes this.
  2. Sky Architect

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    32
    Awesome gig, as far as info, I'm not too sure but I think many others will have some to say soon.
     
  3. sjp0eqt

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    33

    Q: I am authorized to fly closer than five miles from an airport. How will this work?

    In Authorization zones such as the one you mention, an operator simply needs a verified DJI account and uses the DJI GO application to unlock the area. Making sure that you are authorized is your responsibility.

    DJI Newsroom
     
  4. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    The OP did state that he was "right inside the centre on the inner red circle." Only Authorization Zones, which are yellow highlighted areas, can be unlocked. Red Areas are Restricted Zones that cannot be unlocked. Green areas are Warning Zones that do not need to be unlocked but are still subject to safety precautions.

    The standard process to unlock yellow (unlockable) zones does not seem to apply in this particular case. If you do not want to turn off GEO in the app, I do seem to recall someone asking about an airshow or an event at an airport and there was a way to do that though it wasnt easy. I don't recall how or if that was even true, but I'll search for the thread.
     
    #4 Oso, Aug 23, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2016
  5. Lancelot

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. Vertigo

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    148
    use litchi ?
     
  7. Lancelot

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    whats that ?
     
  8. Vertigo

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    148
    its an alternative to DJI Go, but Im unsure if it already implements NFZ.
     
  9. Lancelot

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think it does, because their would be vids of it all over the internet.
     
  10. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I found this link. It wasnt the one I was looking for, but it might help.
    THIS ZONE CANNOT BE UNLOCKED

    Summary is that it suggests contacting DJI at flysafe@dji.com. You would need to submit paperwork showing that you have permission to fly within the airport. Disclaimer: I have never tried this myself and I have no idea if would work or how long it would take to disposition. I'm just trying to help you with a potential option. Good luck sir.
     
  11. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
  12. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1,401
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Atti won't do it, Phantom will still get GPS signal for location. You could open up the Phantom and put foil over the GPS unit. You would then automatically be flying in Atti mode.
     
  13. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    No need to open, just cover the top with aluminium tape.
    It really require to practice in advance and there should be no wind to do really nice video.
     
  14. Vertigo

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    148
    if he is doing this professionally, I assume he has no problems flying in attitude mode. I actually think footage shot in att mode generally looks better, more natural. Let the drone drift a bit with the wind, there is no harm in that, its aerial footage. If you want it to be perfectly still, use a crane.
     
  15. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    A wise man on this site once said about foil on top, "I'm sure the authorities would be really nice to you if there was an incident and they found your aircraft had been tampered with.
    Have you seen the FAA fines and penalties, I bet if anything were to ever happen and you had an accident you'd be on the maximum side of the penalties. is it really worth it?"

    Personally I would be too chicken to do it at an international airport unless I had permission in writing. Everyone has their own comfort level with risk and mine in that case would be low. :)

    EDIT: FYI that the above is a general comment with regards to the "foil" method of bypassing GPS suggested in this thread and also often in the forum. It was not addressed to the OP who stated right off that he had permission. Also, the quote mentioned "FAA" but of course it goes without saying that the FAA is not global. Substitute whichever similar governing body you'd like if it helps you to see the intended point of the quote. Cheers! :)
     
    #15 Oso, Aug 23, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
    JoBe and Falcon900 like this.
  16. Lancelot

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    im getting paid and i have the airports permission
     
  17. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    @Lancelot - have you reached out to DJI as I noted this morning? I'm curious about the process and I'm sure others would also be curious.
     
  18. Spezi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    It looks like he or she is in France so FAA fines and penalties might not be a significant deterrent in this particular case.

    DGAC, on the other hand…


    Before you ask, it stands for Direction Générale de l'Aviation Civile and yes, I had to look it up.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
    Falcon900 likes this.
  19. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    If you were asking, I think (s)he lives in the UK. I dont think (s)he mentioned which airport was in question.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  20. Spezi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    You're right. I mistakenly thought Dronason's post was from Lancelot.

    In my defense, Lancelot did start a thread about flying in France. It was a year ago, but maybe I can get partial credit?