Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No "B-B-B-B" sound on startup

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by stupilot, Jun 21, 2014.

  1. stupilot

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    First day with new P2V. Managed two flights without incident - GPS locked with flashing greens, no issues with flight that I noticed.

    However, in the course of watching some online videos I have noticed that my Vision makes a different noise on startup than it seems is present in most of the videos. Specifically, when the main battery is turned on, I get the first part of the loud beeping noises (like a scale, going up - DAAAA - Da - Da - Da - Da -Da) - but there is no "B - B - B - B" that follows. Does this indicate a problem? Can't seem to find an answer to this despite lots of searching across these boards and other.

    Thanks for any info/help you could pass along.
     
  2. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Are you sure you have a phantom vision or do you have a phantom vision + ?
    The p2v has the second part of the tone and the p2v+ doesnt. Now unless maybe new models are being made the same as the p2v+. Either way I probably wouldnt worry about it.
     
  3. sergekouper

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    London UK
    Different models, different music.
     
  4. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    The last four tones are ESC's reporting, i believe. Do all of your motors start?
    Are they "equalized" no unusal over speeds?

    Does everything else seem to be ok? No errors or control problems?
    You may need to call your dealer, it may be a bad board or naza.
     
  5. stupilot

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.

    It is definitely a phantom vision (not +). Delivered this week.

    And everything seems to be running just fine. Smooth flight, no issues, GPS lock seems to work.

    Is it just waiting to "attack" so to speak?

    Anyone else have similar experience?

    Thanks again.
     
  6. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    You either have a different model (not a PV2)... Or, you have a issue with the esc's reporting.
    Call your dealer.
     
  7. stupilot

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I guarantee it's a vision 2 (NOT +). Are there people who would spend this kind of cash to buy a machine and not know which version they had chosen?

    I have emailed DroneFly - my dealer - but of course it is the weekend and they are unavailable, as is DJI.

    It's interesting that the machine seemed to fly flawlessly. Not sure how worried I should be about this.
     
  8. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    What version is your MC ( main circuit board INSIDE your P2V? )

    They might be integrating P2V+ TECH, into the new P2V's
    Also your wifi extender might be the new version, with 2x the range?

    Pretty cool!

    Take care, Fly Safe!
     
  9. stupilot

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hope so - how could I figure that out?
     
  10. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    It would require OPENING up your phantom,
    To look at the circuit boards, for version, and model #'s

    My P2V is around 7 months old now,here are the specifics:

    MC ( main controller ) INSIDE PHANTOM ( P330CB-H3-2D V2 ( version 2 )).
    ESC ( electronic speed controls ) in arms of phantom ( WM 301 BLDC V2 ( version 2 )).
    EXTENDER: on rear of extender, there is a sticker with a model #
    Original P2v = Model #RE500
    P2v+. = Model #Re700

    Hope this helps, here is a trick for opening Phantoms!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    EDITED: ( to add: )

    To open Phantom, Cut stickers, Then:

    Remove these HEX SCREWS:
    [​IMG]
    And these PHILLIPS SCREWS:
    [​IMG]

    CAREFUL, do not remove the 4 MOTOR SCREWS, on each arm!

    Reverse order to close!

    Take Care, Fly Safe!
     
  11. stupilot

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like the WiFi extender is the P2V version (RE500) - oh well.
    Which raises the question - can you pair a PV2+ extender with the P2V successfully to get more range?

    Haven't cracked it open yet to check the board and ESCs.

    Maybe later?

    Thanks again!
     
  12. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    No problem, as for the extenders, I'm not sure, I've never tried?
    I was thinking maybe your speed controllers are a newer version?

    Keeps us informed!

    Take care, Fly safe!
     
  13. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    This was ome of my first thoughts that mayne the latest version of the vision just has the same boot up sequence but definitely best to find out off your dealer or dji to confirm that just in case you do have a problem.
     
  14. Dillinger

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Estonia
    and if dealer can tell you how get rid of all beeps or make them about 30 DB level - tell me too!

    Just anooyed every time You go to app or any other reboot sequence. At room. Public place. Anywhere. Just all surrounding must watch at you and You are"look me, I am cool beeping flyer". Sucks.
     
  15. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Haha I'm on the other side of the fence. I have the boot up tones on my phone for every text message that comes in :lol:
     
  16. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Can't help it J Dot. You forgot the screws. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
     
  17. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    LOL, added SCREWS patterns!

    Take care, Fly Safe!
     
  18. jiminyfixit

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    3
    jerry D. You wouldn't happen to have some detailed photos of the internal connections to the Naza, would you? I'm still trying to find details so I can be sure I have everything hooked up right. Mine was a disassembled teabagger. I just soldered in a new ESC and got all the flashing lights and beeps, but still no motor response from the controller. It's difficult to determine what other components may have been effected by the water intrusion if I don't even have the connectors in the right slots. Hope you can help or point me in the right direction. I've looked at all the Utube videos, even the one in German. Thanks!
     
  19. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    As you wish!

    Here is the correct ( Stock ) P2V NAZA-M wiring.

    Picture 1:
    [​IMG]

    The Camera Servo wire connects ( Vertically ) up-down on ( F2 slot on NAZA-m box )
    ( see pic 1 above for correct color placement )

    The wire next to M2 plug on MC ( main controller ) plugs ( Horizontally )
    Side-side ( bottom most pins ) across ( M1/M2/M3/M4 ) pins!
    ( see pic 1 above for correct color placement )

    Ok,
    Picture 2
    [​IMG]

    USB Com port wire, ( plugs Horizontally ) top most pins, across
    ( A, E, T, R. Pins )
    ( see pic 2 for correct color placement )

    Picture 3:
    [​IMG]

    This wire hooks ( horizontally ) across ( U, X1, X2, X3 ) pins ( top most pins
    ( see pic 3 for placement )

    Picture 4:
    [​IMG]

    Wire #1 hooks ( vertically ) on X1 slot ( goes under pic 3 wire )
    Wire #2 hook ( vertically ) on X2 slot
    ( also goes under pic 3 wire )
    Wire #3 hooks ( Vertically ) on X3 slot
    ( goes under pic 3 Wire )

    Hope this helps!

    Take Care, Fly Safe!
     
  20. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    Here is a thread on that very subject... The poster says indeed, it can be done to double range on the P2V.
    I Hope the RE700 becomes the official replacement for the RE500.

    http://www.phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=13899