Newbie needing advice

Reaction score
Hi. I am new to the Phantom (it arrived this weekend). I am totally confused by the start up indications of the LEDs. Should I switch everything on and leave it until only green is showing (in GPS mode)? I lost the will to live waiting (quite a few minutes) after callibrating compass, so took off and then just got green flashes. Seemed to work OK, but not sure I am following the correct procedure. Any advice very welcome :)

Sounds like you did everything right. Instead of me typing it all out I would get online, go to YouTube.. Look up DJI instructional vids for Phantom.. So much easier to watch it IMO.... They have first flight and pre check vids that really help out.

Thanks for that reply - I've looked at them but the initilisation seems to be very fast in the videos but doesn't seem to happen on mine in real time. Do I need to update software or something like that?

Bart1 said:
Hi and welcome to the world of Phantoms!

My Phantom takes about 2 to 3 minutes to warm up each time I fly it. Patience is a virtue...

Patience is the key to success with the DJI Phantom. Mine takes some time also but once it's ready, it's a fun 8-10 minutes (carrying a HERO3 in the protective case) of flying around before I come back done and switch out the battery for some more fun.

The best situation will be after a few minutes in GPS mode, you will get slow single GREEN, then take off in ATTI mode and enjoy your flight. But if you get a single GREEN followed by 1 or 2 RED, then you are not getting 6 satellites required for the GPS to work BUT you can still fly in ATTI mode albeit without RTH function but the IOC will still work in CL but not HL because the CL uses the compass not GPS like the HL.

tanasit said: