Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New P3S- persistent rc loss

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Dorf40, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. Dorf40

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,
    I've had 20+ flights, in several locations. My issue is persistent intermittent loss or weak RC signal. I cannot go out over 100yds when the condition occurs. Beginner, atti makes no difference. Re linked controller to AC. Deleted and reinstalled DJI Go a few times. Calibrated IMU, controller. Updated firmware, played with angle of controller antenna. Contacting DJI help only gets me in a loop trying the same techniques to fix. I really do like the concept of the flying camera, but getting frustrated with performance. Am I missing an obvious solution?



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  2. Dazzauk

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Southampton United Kingdom
    Are you flying around places which have lots of interference etc? Wifi etc.

    Does your weak rc signal message only last for a second and the work itself out or does it initiate rth?
     
  3. Dorf40

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flying very rural locations, no cell tower, ,no proper lines.
    RTH is my friend, cause it's imitated by the problem and often.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  4. Dorf40

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    But it will do both, last for a second going in and out of. And hard loss with RTH


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  5. Hammerman

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm having the same problem. Got my Standard right after Thanksgiving, hooked it up, felt confident after several flights to take it out of Beginner mode. Got up to right at 400 feet altitude several times, no problem. Since the firmware update in January, I can barely get to 200 feet altitude, and it loses signal and returns to home. I'm using a Samsung Galaxy Note 5, and for 2 months almost, it never had an issue. I was getting ready to test the alt and go even higher than 400, but now I can't get it above 150-200. Suggestions? (please bare with me, I only found the forum a few weeks ago and don't know a lot of abbreviations and all, so keep it simple if you can!)
     
  6. Hammerman

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    In hunting around, I found this youtube tutorial. I'm going to try it later today if I can, and I'll try to let you know if it works for me.

     
    miskairal likes this.
  7. Dorf40

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interested in your results...


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  8. Catbird

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    I too am having loss of RC signal after updating DJI Go. I tried the suggestions in the video with no luck! Also tried a upgrade work around and it did not work either.

    Sent from my QTASUN1 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Dorf40

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess it's hardware related. Giving it another go, then I guess sending to DJI repair.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  10. mike90

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, its software trouble. After upgrading from 1.5.7/
    It was the best firmware. But how to return to it from 1.8.0 ???
    Nobody dont know how...

    In video Im not understand why pushing LINK button on AC. Copter will start to check firmware without any push.....
     
  11. Hammerman

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tired it...gave me about another 100 ft. Altitude...still not what it needs to be. Once the rain stops for a day or so I may try it again.
     
  12. jordan225171

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just started having the same problem tonight.. after about 14 flights with no issues


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  13. jordan225171

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I re linked the RC controller to the drone and took it out again and it seem to be fine no issues as of now


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    Hammerman likes this.
  14. kwara4u

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try to reset your RC and reconnect with the drone


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  15. Dorf40

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I re linked controller with AC. Getting out to 1600'. Going to take it out further after ARGtek mod. Now I just need to learn how to get cinematic! Oh and not crash the darn thing in the lake I fly over....


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  16. Dazzauk

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Southampton United Kingdom
    Are you saying a re-link has fixed your issue?
     
  17. Dorf40

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed it did. Took it out with antenna mod. 3570'. Wind started coming up,Got nervous and turned back. Will push it out further next time out.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  18. Hammerman

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    I guess I need to try mine again...
     
Loading...