new P3A - upgrade FW or not? Use iPad mini or not?

Reaction score
So i have yet to fly my new P3A, pouring rain here. :(

First I am an experienced P2V+ pilot for 1 1/2 years with tons of experience on that bird in Ontario, Canada.
I just received my new P3A yesterday.

What I have done....
I have unboxed,
charged batteries on bird and RC,
successfully connected iPad mini 1 (16GB no cell data but has wifi) to the RC and bird after installing DJI GO app,
successfully recorded video and stills (just carried the bird around while capturing),
started the bird (no props attached).

Of course the app notifies me that i should upgrade to newest FW (V1.04.001?) but otherwise so far everything seems OK.

Questions/notes:
1) should i upgrade to the new FW? I understand it has all the fun new "Intelligent Flight Modes" but I have yet to learn to fly the P3A as yet and those modes i will not be in need of as yet.
2) Am I good to go using the 1st Gen iPad mini? So far seems to be working although did notice a bit of live feed lag about 1 second, the full HD video recording on the SD card turned out perfect.
3) I used a USB card reader to DL the video files from the micro SD card to my Win 7 Desktop PC.
4) I noticed the MOV files were recorded at 40mbs while MP4 files were recorded at 12mbs.
5) Tried connecting my iPhone 4S but it doesn't seem to work

Last edited:
So i have yet to fly my new P3A, pouring rain here. :(

First I am an experienced P2V+ pilot for 1 1/2 years with tons of experience on that bird in Ontario, Canada.
I just received my new P3A yesterday.

What I have done....
I have unboxed,
charged batteries on bird and RC,
successfully connected iPad mini 1 (16GB no cell data but has wifi) to the RC and bird after installing DJI GO app,
successfully recorded video and stills (just carried the bird around while capturing),
started the bird (no props attached).