Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New bird won't hunt :(

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by kirbinster, Oct 25, 2014.

  1. kirbinster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Morris County NJ
    Had problems with my orginal GPS and my dealer took the P2V+ back and sent me an entirely new bird. Can't get this one to work :( At first I could not get it to calibrate the IMU. Basic was greyed out and advanced gave me the temp warning which I know to ignore but would not work. Let her sit for an hour and then got the advanced to calibrate the unit. Took it outside and did the compass dance but when done all I get are fast red flashing lights. This is what I see on my iPhone: I am also getting ZERO GPS sats, yet it seems to know where it is as the second screen show the correct position between my house and pool as I as bringing her back inside . At a loss what to do now? [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    911
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    You need the satellites, but the quad is most likely not calling them until the compass reading finishes without a error. You never mentioned calibrating the compass which is all you should have done to start with. No need to be concerned with calibrating the IMU unless you notice it's not flying correctly. The compass is your main concern. Any time you take it some place different to fly, the 1st thing you do is calibrate the compass so the quad knows it's location.

    Calibrate your compass and it should power up. Btw, I better mention to reboot the quad after you calibrate the compass.
     
  3. kirbinster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Morris County NJ
    I said I did the compass dance, rotate 360 degrees, flip 90 degrees, and then rotate 360 degrees. I tried it several times but when done the craft just flashes red quickly. I tried turning off and turning back on (reboot) and still no joy. :(
     
  4. burlbark

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Make sure you are pointing it nose down in the second step and do it farther away from your house. Your compass may need degaussing or you can purchase a new one.

    What are the compass values given to you in the assistant?
     
  5. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    911
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    The red flashes are due to not receiving satellites after the calibration. Actually the calibration is done, and has nothing to do with the red flashing lights at that stage. Sit the quad down so that it's then able to search and read satellites, and then see what the flashing light display. However, this is all based on you are in Naza mode in your controller. If you are still in Phantom mode, then the red flashing lights means the calibration failed.

    Calibrate / Power down / Power up / Enable app process / Wait for 6 lights / Go Hunt
    (I prefer to calibrate compass using the manual method rather then using the app)
     
  6. kirbinster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Morris County NJ
    Its in Naza mode. The issue is that after I turn it off and turn it back on the app on my Phone still says the compass is out of wack. This is a brand new bird that just came out of the box :(
     
  7. burlbark

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Have you connected your usb cable and gone into the DJI assistant and checked your compass values. This can tell you if the compass it bad or not. ;)
     
  8. kirbinster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Morris County NJ

    Still have the error on my phone. Did a recal and the compass readings were -76, -21, 305, 1859.3. Did it again in the same spot and they came out as -18, -4, 291, 1733.8. But after rebooting everything I still get the same error on my phone display.
     
  9. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,449
    Have you tried calibrating somewhere else?
    One thing that causes that error msg to appear is if you have a lot of iron or steel close to your phantom - like reinforcing in concrete or a manhole cover.
     
  10. burlbark

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Its time for a new compass? They cost $20.
     
  11. kirbinster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Morris County NJ
    Bad out of the box? This is brand new, have not even attached the props yet :(
     
  12. saltire

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    6
    Take it back and get another its not like it cost a few dollars !
     
  13. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    911
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    At this point it would be time to do the advanced IMU cal. When that is finished, you must power it down to save. It might tell you to power down, or it might do it for you? Regardless it needs powered down. Then cal the compass, and power down. At this point if there is no errors, you are good to go. If both of those were properly completed, then the compass and any other sensor should be ok. Otherwise the IMU process wouldn't finish if something were wrong.
     
  14. Gadger

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lichfield - United Kingdom
    From your photo, you are taking off from, it looks a bit enclosed, try in an open field. And then try compass calibration. Worth a try
     
  15. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    A while back I unwittingly sat my Phantom down on a box containing a huge 35# Sony boom box. Needless to say, the Phantom's compass didn't appreciate the proximity to those speaker magnets. Though I have since run an Advanced IMU calibration, and the compass values have returned to normal ranges, the compass still isn't normal. Every few times I power on, I will get the flashing yellow lights and warning to calibrate the compass.

    It used to be when I calibrated, I did the dance and at the end the status LEDs went back to normal. Now they always wind up doing the fast-flashing red (Calibration Failed) as the OP describes here. (NAZA mode, IOC enabled) At that point I power cycle the Phantom and all is fine. A few flights later (its erractic...sometimes 10...sometimes 2) it happens again, always ending in the fast-flashing red.

    I do have a new compass module heading my way ($19.00).
     
  16. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Is this the upgraded antistatic variant?
     
  17. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Its the original model. I'm not sure if the new ones are available to order yet?