Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

My Phantom 3 Pro showed "Signal Lost" with full signal and control

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by VoicOfReason, Jun 7, 2015.

  1. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Today my Phantom 3, running Android DJI Pilot app on an Nvidia Shield Tablet suddenly showed "Signal Lost" while I still had full signal bars, full video, and full control. No RTH was initiated. I was out about 2,000ft. and 350ft up. I flew it home and landed it smoothly with the "Signal Lost" STILL on the screen.

    If this isn't a software bug, I don't know what is. In the video below you can see live video feed is just fine and I am steering left and right to show I'm still in control.

    Video proof:

     
  2. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    1st I've seen of that
     
  3. Skynet1

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    12
    Have you considered contacting DJI and providing them with your video info.
    The more they are aware of the better for all pilots.
     
  4. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    I thought they were kind of unreachable. I suppose I could email them.
     
  5. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    OK. I just emailed them. I'll probably never hear back.
     
    ctrlbrk likes this.
  6. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Strange:confused: thanks for sharing
     
  7. Skynet1

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    12
    Great, maybe you can also contact your dealer with what you have experienced.
    The dealers sometimes have ways of directly contacting DJI reps.

    There are a couple guys which generally have a direct line with DJI as field employees, and who hangout on the "RCGROUPS.com" forum under
    Multirotor talk "P-3 pro/advanced owners thread" Tahoe Ed or Blade Strike are their monikers. I'm sure they would want to report back your findings to DJI R&D folks. Just a suggestion.
     
  8. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Thanks, I will.

    Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk
     
  9. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    @blade strike and @Tahoe Ed are here also
     
  10. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    I've heard about them. Do they work for DJI?
     
  11. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    Reps of some sort not sure the exact affiliation.
     
  12. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    Seems a few of us had issues to day, My wife just mentioned solar flares? I'll go check out the solar flare forcast for ham radio....Propagation was good to day on the bands.

    Nope nothing today
     
    #12 envisionabove, Jun 7, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2015
  13. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    We work for DJI US.. Ed full time and me part time as my real job allows..

    This is the first I have seen of this a more than likely just an app glitch. How many times has this happened?

    I will go ahead and forward this to the proper peoplle.

    Ken
     
    cmyk22 likes this.
  14. TBDGR

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I've had this happen to me on 4 out of my 8 flights so far. I attributed it to maybe some interference from cell phone towers and WiFi activity, but I'll make sure to screen cap everything next time it occurs to submit for troubleshooting and R&D

    P3P 1.1.9 FW / Samsung Note 3 or Nvidia Shield Tablet DJI Pilot 1.1.0
     
  15. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Because I have never had this happen before it is just speculation.... But I have a theory that this may have something to do with no internet connection. Since taking delivery of my quad I have done all my flying from my backyard and off the house router. The P3 does require a internet connect for a couple of reasons.
     
  16. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Thanks. This is the first time it has happened to me. I believe it is also the first time I have disabled my wifi on my tablet while flying, also.
     
  17. Skynet1

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    12
    ,
    Maybe someone in a better position may respond, Ed or Ken, but I was under the assumption that Wi-Fi was not necessarily used or needed with the P-3, and that both video and Tx were on 2.4 Ghz. That Wi-Fi was used simply for mapping purposes, and should generally be turned OFF, and placed into airplane mode on your device, which is the way I've been flying since acquiring my P-3, and with no major issues in that regard.
    Again, not gospel just something I've read here, and on other such forums.
    I realize the P-2 is a horse of another color. : )
     
    #17 Skynet1, Jun 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2015
  18. Skynet1

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    12
    See following attachment under Safety Guidelines Disclaimer, re: Interference with Flight Controller, Communications, and Positioning Systems. Pg. 11
    Avoid interference between the remote controller and other wireless equipment. Make sure to turn off the Wi-Fi on your mobile device.

    http://download.dji-innovations.com/downloads/phantom_3/en/Safety_Guidelines_Disclaimer_en.pdf
     
    #18 Skynet1, Jun 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2015
  19. trigger2010

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Had the same thing happen on my advanced I brought it to the ground shut everything off and tried it again it worked but it makes you think before each flight for sure
     
  20. ZachMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0