Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Mixing parts?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Hypersport1, Jan 12, 2016.

  1. Hypersport1

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a phantom 3 adv I crashed and now have an esc error. Someone is selling there professional phantom 3 I would like to know would I have any problems replacing the motherboard with the professional into the advanced. Would the adv remote work on the professional 3 motherboard?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,034
    Likes Received:
    5,604
    Location:
    US
    It's the same board. There are two versions of that board though. If the motors are the same on both Phantoms, then it's okay to swap it.
     
  3. Hypersport1

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK got it. Thanks . Do you know if it's easy to get the advance remote to work on the pro motherboard once I put it into my advanced body.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,034
    Likes Received:
    5,604
    Location:
    US
    The Advanced and Professional remote controllers are exactly the same. If you want to switch the remote controllers anyhow, then you'll just need to relink the remote controller.
     
  5. Hypersport1

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks. The motherboards are $400 and this guy selling his crashed pro for $250 but has assured me that he can still turn it on, only 3 of the motors will run. They look to be the same motors. So I will just swap out one of my running motors and put it in my advanced body wala a new phantom hopefully.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,034
    Likes Received:
    5,604
    Location:
    US
    You might want to get a photo of the board to ensure it's not damaged. The components sometimes break off in crashes.
     
  7. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    742
    Location:
    Australia
    With three motors running there is a good chance the board has a blown ESC, you will have done your dough on the deal if thats the case. Locked rotor in a crash will likely result in a smoked esc before a motor winding burns out.
     
  8. Hypersport1

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks I passed on the deal. Got to be up to $355 and new ones are only 400 for the motherboard so after reading your post I am glad I did.