Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Mac software appears to be coming...

Discussion in 'News' started by deluge2, Dec 30, 2013.

  1. deluge2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Looks like DJI may be coming out with Mac OS X versions of Phantom software soon. See quote below for an extract from today's announcement from DJI regarding their high-end A2 flight controller. Of course at the moment the corresponding A2 download section still has only Windoze apps, but it often takes DJI up to a day or two to fully rollout new downloads.

    Steve

     
  2. browntw79

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, VA USA
    Crap . . . I just spent $150 to install parallels and Win7 on my Mac just for the DJI Assistant software . . . LAST WEEK! :cry:
     
  3. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Mac software is already available. It was added earlier today. For the vision and phantom 2.
     
  4. droneranger

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Um......Mac OSX 10.6 is Snow Leopard. Lion is 10.7. Looks like DJI's software developers from the Windows team are now writing for the Mac. Wow, now they have 2 OSs to screw up! God help us.....
     
  5. ppdrone

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    yes!!! great news on Mac!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  6. ppdrone

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    yes!!! great news on Mac!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  7. Ted Neiman

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just downloaded the Mac version of the assistant. It didn't seem to include the drivers for the RC unit to USB port. Also even tho I registered, it wouldn't let me log in as a registered user...
     
  8. droneranger

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Yes, you're correct. You still have to use the Windows software to update the RC; there is no Mac version for that yet. I did not have trouble registering, so I can't help you there. :?
     
  9. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Iowa, United States
    Make sure you are using the right assistant for your particular Phantom. There are four sections on the web page for the four Phantoms: Phantom, Phantom FC40, Phantom 2 Vision and Phantom 2.

    As of this writing, there are no Mac versions of the RC Assistant. You must still use a PC to use the RC Assistant.

    I'm sure you've already done so, if not, go to the home page http://www.dji.com, click on the word "Phantom" above the picture and you should go to a page with four distinct paths to the four different Phantoms. http://www.dji.com/phantom-all/. Click on your Phantom to go to a page with links to all the information for your Phantom. Then click on the tutorial and download page, the name seems to vary a little for the four different Phantoms.

    Read the release notes for the latest information of that particular Phantom. Using the wrong Assistant will not permit you to log into the software.

    Sorry if I'm telling you information you're already familiar with.
     
  10. wincrasher

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't know much about computers, but I think it would be alot more practical to just have an iphone or ipad app to do what these mac/pc programs do.
     
  11. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Iowa, United States
  12. santana2000

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just want to get this straight. We can use the Mac software for the Phantom 1 but can't update the RC with the software. Correct?

    Thanks
     
  13. dkatz42

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Yep, that's the case, though a Mac version of the RC assistant is just a Small Matter of Programming, as we say in the business. Seems like it has to be easier than the Phantom assistant, given the relative complexity.
     
  14. chrisflyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i cant see the update for phantom 1 for imac anywhere ???
     
  15. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Iowa, United States
    Follow this page to your Phantom:
    http://www.dji.com/phantom-all/
    Go to the support page and downloads list for your Phantom. If you don't see the version you're looking for, it does not exist.

    DJI has not stated when or if Mac versions of all the assistants for all the different Phantoms will be available.
     
  16. MenaceCat

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Still waiting for Mac version of the Assistant for the Phantom 1; the version for Phantom 2 works very well. DJI - please make a version!