Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi beta offer(current users)

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Tony Cowan, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I was just going to buy litchi from iTunes for $14.99. Then I checked my email and there was an offer for testing. I jumped on it. Any bugs or things I need to worry about. Also. I'm nervous with this as I think I can set way points from home. I'm just nervous if this platform is stable. I don't want s flyaway or
     
    #1 Tony Cowan, Feb 5, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  2. Branden price

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ky
    Better hope nobody steals that code


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Tony Cowan likes this.
  3. Branden price

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ky
    I think that is for there beta app. It used to not work with the standard because dji hadn't releases the sdk but now they have. I would be interested in how it works. I signed up for the beta but never received a code


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I never got a code either. But today it showed up in email and said click here if you want to test. I just opened the app when connected. It allows you to set way points from app without being airborne. But I can't see what the altitude will be. Very strange. It does look similar to the go app. I'm too nervous to use this.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    Didn't even notice it. Ok thanks I never used code. But downloaded app and the app worked. Looks like I'm gonna need help. I can even draw a way point with pencil. I just don't see where to set altitude anywhere.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #5 Tony Cowan, Feb 5, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  6. Branden price

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ky
    You made me go back through my email and I found where they sent me the same thing. You don't actually download the litchi app. It's another app called TestFlight. Going to hopefully try it tonight or tomorrow morning


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    Yes. That is what I downloaded. And it added litchi on its on.
    I started motors inside with it. So it works. I need to go to field to test this. The ways points look awesome. I have no idea about adjusting camera during mission. Yikes!!!! Sorry for being dumb.

    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Branden price

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ky
    Your not. I just got my first p3s last month. I'm learning with you


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Branden price

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ky
    I just want you to go first


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. Branden price

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ky
    I don't see a place to set rth altitude either. Might have to email them


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. CRF319

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    58
    I downloaded Litchi this past Saturday. First flight was 6 close waypoints with a few POIs. I flew that flightpath twice and was so excited to see the Phantom flying by itself that I forgot to hit record, oops!
    Here is the flight plan from my second flight on Sunday. I did record that one but the camera pitched up and down quickly a few times when it shouldn't have. Going to set up a few flights this weekend and see what happens.
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1454719210.931837.jpg
     
  12. Branden price

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ky
    Did you try panarama pictures?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. CRF319

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    58
    Not yet, hopefully this weekend.
     
  14. jbe420

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    15
    I went ahead and bought the app and it works great they update the beta every day or so for different features to be tested. Get the app you will anyway!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. Branden price

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ky
    But does the actual app support the standard yet


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    How much room did the downloaded app take up on your device?
     
  17. jbe420

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes it works on iOS


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. Sabalon

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    45
    The actual app does indeed work with the standard.
    RTH is set via the DJI Go app, as are other settings like video resolution/fps. Basically the bird knows its settings. Can't speak for sure for if it is stored on internal storage or not, but it seems to know the RTH from last time. I usually do launch DJI Go first - just to make sure I have settings the way I wan them.

    Litchi is pretty much used for setting waypoints, getting them on the device, and sending it on it's merry way.

    On my iPhone, Litchi is taking up 77MB.

    Also, something I found - you have to have the remote in P-mode to upload the waypoints. It'll bomb if you don't and tell you to do so. So you flip the switch and hit upload again and it'll tell you there is an error and you need to reload litchi. Takeway is to put it in P-Mode after takeoff.

    One other annoyance is I can't find any way to cancel the RTH from inside Litchi. It would be nice as it's coming in for a landing to take control or send it on another mission. I supposed I could have the mission end with Hover instead, but cancel RTH would be nice.
     
    Air Ontario likes this.
  19. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I saw that the rth was set on litchi already. But I mean setting altitude for missions. This panorama bad other features. I'm not seeing it. Example when app is open. Where are the other modes?
    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Isn't the panarama selected from the waypoint menu near stay, start/stop record and panarama?

    I have the app/invitation but haven't had time to open/look at it yet.