Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Lightbridge...

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by forferdeilig, May 12, 2016.

  1. forferdeilig

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, the phantom 3 pro is supposed to have lightbridge built into the controller, however i cannot finad anz information anzwhere, in the manuel or online about how to use it... i have a video link as normal in the dji go app, however its about 1-2 seconds of latency and very low quality, and in the lightbridge app i#ve never got anything but connection broken. Could anyone explain what this lightbridge actually is and how it works? there is literally no information on it for the p3p, only as a seporate standalone unit.
     
  2. ScatSpeak

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    MO, USA
    Lightbridge is used automatically for the RC to communicate with the P3 for video/data... you don't have to know how to use it... it's the only way they communicate...
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,435
    Lightbridge is the system that DJI use to handle control and video signal between the controller and Phantom 3pro and some of their other machines.
    Most other drones use wifi but the P3 pro uses Lightbridge which gives much better video and control over much greater distances.
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,078
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Correct.
     
  5. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Lightbridge was an additional piece of hardware back in the P2 days. It's different now.
     
  6. forferdeilig

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so the video signal i get on my phone in the dji go app is from lightbridge, perhaps my phone is the cause, it's currently a s3 mini and not exactly the best thing for this it would seem. I'll try a different one later today.
    edit- one more question, is there any way to output video to a tv screen / monitor?
     
  7. Doink

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I thought the pro used wifi and it was only the advanced that used lightbridge?

    My bad, it appears the pro uses lightbridge too, I could of sworn I'd didn't which is one of the reasons I favoured the advanced
     
  8. beegee

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    7
    DJI make an hdmi module that replaces the standard usb section of the rc unit - judging by the youtube tutorials on the upgrade installation, I think even non-techies like myself could install the unit (for p3a and p3p only I believe)
     
  9. Doink

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    If I were to swap to this module and then use a hdmi monitor instead of a tablet then how and where to you install the dji go app to?
     
  10. MarkEt

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    26
    Standard and 4K : wifi. Advanced and Pro : lightbridge.



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Doink likes this.
  11. Doink

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    At the time of getting mine the P3A 4k wasn't around, was only the P3S, P3A P3P, when i compared the specs I'm sure it was the advanced that had lightbridge and pro was wifi
     
  12. GaryDZ

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Shelton,CT USA
    Not so.
     
    Doink likes this.
  13. ScatSpeak

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    MO, USA
    The P3A and P3P were released at the same time in 2015 and BOTH used Lightbridge... ;) DJI announces not just one, but two Phantom 3 quadcopters
     
    Doink likes this.
  14. Leenanj

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    You still need to use a device that can run the Go app like iPad or Android.
    Using an HDMI monitor would be your second device
    Most people use the HDMI for FPV goggles.
     
    Doink likes this.
  15. Doink

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I thought that would be it, the monitor would be the second device, as for goggles I assume they would just be plug and play with no other add ons required?
     
  16. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    62
    What are the limitations of the Phantom Standard (Wi-Fi) vs Advanced/Pro (Lightbridge variation of Wi-Fi)? (I have P3P but I'd like to be properly informed because some friends are going to ask my for my advice soon).

    Does the Phantom Standard RC connect to the mobile via the more error-prone Wi-Fi vs USB? Is its max RC-to-AC distance shorter -- can apps like Litchi still work when there is no RC connection? Other limitations?
     
  17. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Lightbridge is DJI's fancy name for their radio transmitter. It can send a signal to the P3A and P2P from 1.5 miles up to 3 miles. WiFi on the P3S's use a wifi booster to send a wifi signal up to 2500' to the P3S's.

    Correct, it connects to the transmitter using Wifi, not a USB cable. Litchi runs on the Standards. Nothing will work if the transmitter is not connected to the Phantom. It's the main controller.
     
  18. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    62
    Thanks. But is it true that Lightbridge is a variation of Wi-Fi that omits some error correction that is just unnecessary bloat when controlling the AC?
     
  19. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    #19 WetDog, May 13, 2016
    Last edited: May 13, 2016
    matti and Toddzilla like this.
  20. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I suspect if anyone thinks this that they are getting it only from knowing both operate in the 2.4Ghz range. That is, they think anything in that range is "wifi".