Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

lightbridge frequencies

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by westray, May 14, 2015.

  1. westray

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Airth,Scotland
    Is it true that DJI have reduced the available frequencies from 32 to 8 in the latest update and that this is why the video range is reduced?
     
  2. Jacob

    Jacob Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    305
    As far as I can tell, it has always been 8. I can see that posts made on the day it was released talked about the 8 channels.
     
  3. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    No there was many more channel, at least 20.
     
  4. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Have you seen a reduced range since you updated to 1.1.8 on a same flight plan that you made before on 1.1.6
     
  5. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    WOW if the p3 has reduced range how much range did the regular light typically bridge get? Cause I'm get sicko range out of the p3 and WAY!!!! farther then the stated range of 2km even in a small city in getting more then double and almost triple the stated range.
     
  6. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    This is how the rumors on facebook start. They didn't reduce range. They just locked it to the higher channels to help performance. 13-20 are the cleaner channels.

    This has nothing to do with the output.
     
    downshift likes this.
  7. Todd_Copeland

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have much experience with this so I did some quick looking. From what I see, 2.4GHz contains channels 1 to 11/14. How is it that DJI uses 13 to 20?
     
  8. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    That's mostly only for wifi.. This is not wifi.
     
  9. Todd_Copeland

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking at DJI's specs on the P3,the transmitter operates from 2.400GHz to 2.483GHz. This is the same freq band licensed for wifi. It's also this band that contains channels labeled as 1 to 14.
     
  10. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    I understand this.. You were asking about the higher channels not being part of the 2.4 band. Which they are but most happy home owner WiFi routers only work on the lower channels.

    The lightbridge does not use wifi technology bit does use 2.4, that's all my point was .
     
    #10 blade strike, May 17, 2015
    Last edited: May 17, 2015
  11. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    The 2.4GHz ISM band is the same between Lightbridge and WiFi. Different protocols, same frequency range. For what it's worth, Lightbridge holds up very well in congested 2.4GHz areas.
     
  12. CroatianP3Pilot

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys. I have one question. Don't know why but my fly range is about 400-500m, does anybody know why? (sorry on my english, i still learn...)
     
  13. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Welcome to the party CroatianP3Pilot.

    This might help you find things here in the forum. It's Google Custom Search, enter your text in the middle of the page, not at the top.
    https://cse.google.com/cse/publicurl?cx=014775389315664725445:ejku2ysgyhi

    Enjoy the show. :D
     
  14. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,552
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Which if I understand correctly would simply mean that two devices would not communicate. However, the two devices could very well be using the same channel/frequency which would lead to interference.

    Also, I'm still wondering about these 13-20 channels.