Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iPhone App Does Not Work on Vision+/Camera Won't Connect

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by CGPhoto, Apr 26, 2014.

  1. CGPhoto

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,
    Out of the box the camera on my Vision + will not connect with iPhone. Spent two days trying then 2 1/2 hours on hold with DJI...the gentleman tried to help, but said this is a known issue with the app that was just released. He said there is no known fix until an update is available via the App Store. My brand new quadcopter is useless without a working camera. I've tried DJI's suggestions (which they said have not been known to fix the problem) and then upgraded my iPhone.The old app worked fine but they said they don't even have it in LA. Android users have same problem. I'm about to ship it back although it is only two days old...and swear off DJI products. (I do not expect things to be perfect but a flying camera out to have a camera that works!) Any suggestions?

    Tried:
    •Reinstalling app
    •Switch off iPhone radio
    •Closing all unused apps
    •Rebooting phone
    •Swithing off Wifi, etc.
    •Every known suggestion from DJI and that I can think of an an experienced iPhone user
     
  2. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. CGPhoto

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did, the app crashes/freezes, loses contact in the same way. Indeed, the issue seems to be with the app itself. I am willing to try anything.
     
  4. brutal11

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you already check all cable at P2V+?
     
  5. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    The only other thing I can think of trying is to put you're iPhone into airplane mode then just turn the wifi on. I had trouble with my cellular galaxy tab2 trying to use the mobile data connection instead of the phantoms wifi connection until I turned the mobile data off.
     
  6. BMEWS

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire UK
    can you list the firmware version of the app and the P2v+ (assume it's 3.0)?

    cheers

    Bmews
     
  7. CGPhoto

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know where to look for this...but the problem is with the app, the new version. The Phantom is right out of the box. I called DJI a second time...they can't get the app to work in house, and know of no solution on the iPhone or Android side.The Phantom is useless for its intended purpose.
     
  8. maxcmo

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    I am having the same problem with my P V2 not +

    Can you control your pan tilt thru the app and make it record and shoot video? I can I just cant see the video thru my phone. On my way to the Bahamas for a once a year fishing trip had planned on taking the Phantom so bummed!

    I have upgraded every piece of hardware that I could everything is up to date. Still no dice. I even found an old version of the app and installed it and it still didn't work so I am concerned its something else and I'm gonna wait for this update and still be screwed. I have been searching all over the internet and it seems DJI rushes it products to the market to quickly based on the last few phantoms.
     
  9. jose cerqueira filho

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can control your pan tilt thru the app and make it record and shoot video? I can I just cant see the video thru my phone. any help
     
  10. Skhollywood1

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was there ever a fix for this?
     
  11. Flintstone

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    The loss of video on the P2V+ is a defective wifi module. There are several forum comments saying the heat dissipation is not enough and the module overheats and breaks down components... poor design on DJI's part. The price to replace the module is ridiculous! If you can find someone selling a P2V+ for parts hopefully cheaper than a new module. There is a video on adding additional heat sync grease and ventilating the module case. I will be be moving away from DJI products I can't stand their poor service.
     
  12. ChicoForPresident

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Good News And Bad News,
    The good news is It's not your phantom that is not letting you connect, it's the app that has been causing this and I have talked to DJI and they plan to fix it, hopefully right this time.
    The bad news is that the app won't be fixed for another 6 weeks
     
  13. tekinoztekin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone just follow the steps.

    1) Delete the app from iphone.
    2) Go to Users/<Username>/Music/iTunes/iTunes Media/Mobile Applications location on Mac and C:\Users\<Username>\Music\iTunes\iTunes Media\Mobile Applications location on Windows; find the "DJI VISION 1.0.60.ipa" and delete it.
    3) Download the "DJI VISION 1.0.56.ipa" from DJI VISION 1.0.56.ipa.zip and move "DJI VISION 1.0.56.ipa" to the same folder.
    4) Open itunes, go to my apps. Find DJI VISION app, right click and click show in finder. It is not going to find and ask you to locate; press locate.
    5) Choose "DJI VISION 1.0.56.ipa" from Users/<Username>/Music/iTunes/iTunes Media/Mobile Applications
    6) Connect your iphone, sync and download the app again.

    Safe flights.


    #10
     
  14. ChicoForPresident

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does the 1.00.60 work now? I contacted DJI telling them that the new version of the app had ruined the camera preview for people that have used it and they replied saying that the new version cancels out the upgrading of the range extender and now it should work fine but I don't know if I should trust them