Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iPad Wifi to iPhone question

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Dave Kerton, Sep 15, 2016.

  1. Dave Kerton

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Phantomers....

    I have a question...I have been told/advised that when flying the Phantomness it's advised to turn wifi off on your phone/pad....however, if I have an iPad with only wifi, can I connect the iPad (connected to controller) to the iPhone via wifi to get live maps etc without having issues?

    Don;t want to part with good money if not advised...

    If not, is there a solution??
     
  2. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    I would advise to never turn off your device while flying. Ha
    Yes, I know what you really meant. Chuckles...
    True, No, you don't need wifi enabled on the device, while you fly. I just put my iPad in Airplane mode. And leave it there.
    Maps can be cached while you are in a wifi hotspot. Be it at home, or you may use your cell phone.

    Turn on 'Cache Maps In Background' In the Go app.
    Open map view, scroll to your intended flight area, and pinch the map open, larger, open it up, as close to the ground as it will go, now move it around, exposing the areas surrounding your intended flight location. When you turn off the device, the map should still be there, when you arrive at the location you intend to fly.

    It's not felable, and it doesn't always stick, but most of the time, your map will be there. You can certainly fly without the map, but it is a nice option to have running.

    RedHotPoker
     
    #2 RedHotPoker, Sep 15, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2016
  3. Dave Kerton

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    If i cache maps to use offline in Google maps, will they appear in DJI Go/Litchi?
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    We turn off wifi and other apps during flying as we need our tablet to have full processing capacity devoted to video processing for a smooth display. We also don't like to receive notifications etc during flights. As time passes by better devices with higher processing capabilities will be / are available and such restrictions can be lowered to owners choice.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    You actually cache your flight map, right in the Go app.
    While at home or wherever wifi is available, turn on the RC, drone and Go app. Once it declares the Home Point had been located, open the map view, and slide it to wherever you are going to be flying that day. Move it around, beyond where you intend to fly. The map automatically will be stored for near future use.

    Try it at home and see how it works, just cache a map of your neighborhood, turn off the app. Then go outside, beyond your wireless wifi network and turn it back on, to check it out.

    For my drone, I use a dedicated iPad Air2 Cellular, and use my old iPad3 for web browsing, game play and other reality behaviors.

    RedHotPoker
     
  6. Dave Kerton

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks RHP. I'll have a look.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  7. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    I am still waiting, for the much anticipated announcement, that the iPad Air3 128gb Cellular is on the Apple Store shelf... Many Months and full moons, have already passed. So I ponder the question, What happened?? ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
  8. Mocho

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Just to clarify...

    Yes you can use wifi when you forget to cache a map.
    When you get to your location setup your hotspot, turn on your wifi, let the app download the map (select a larger map area than needed). Then you can turn off wifi once the map is fully loaded.

    You can fly with wifi on some do it all the time, another member has stated why we usually don't. Sometimes I forget to turn off wifi after loading up the map and it hasn't caused me any grief, but I also have a fast dedicated flying tablet.
     
  9. LuisQ

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using one bluetooth GPS receiver bought in Amazon when I fly with my Ipad Air wifi. And everything works better with a high signal. Without these receiver the follow me funtion did not work at all.
     
  10. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    I have a wifi only iPad Air 2. I fly either connected to Comcast wireless hotspots (if available) or tethered to my iPhone 6s. I leave everything on, bluetooth, wifi, cell... Cell phone is always in my pocket. I've even answered calls and checked email and forum posts while flying...Never had an issue and have flown out beyond 11mi.
     
  11. chazz

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    36
    I'm one of the people that does it all the time without issue...
     
    #11 chazz, Sep 15, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2016
  12. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    It's on my shopping list too.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  13. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    It seems to have been taken off of the radar... It was such a good fantasy... ;-)


    RedHotPoker