Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iPad 2air

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Havavision, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. Havavision

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City Az
    looks like I will be purchasing a iPad 2 air with cellular. Those using the same how many gig do you have and are you happy with iPad?? My old iPad won't even let me download the pilot app.
     
  2. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    434
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    The gigs doesn't matter as the app is only a 120 mb or so.

    I just picke up a 64 gig iPad Air 2. Haven't used it yet.
     
  3. Julius717

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    248
    I'm a get the best kinda guy. I use the 128 under at&t. Only app on it I'd the pilot app I don't use it for anything else haha. Works great
     
    snerd and Havavision like this.
  4. Havavision

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City Az
    I realize that, was just curious as to what folks were using. Let me know how it works out. Thanks. Jerry
     
  5. Jamison LaGuardia

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have to have cellular for it to work?
     
  6. DrChris

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I upgraded my old iPad 2 when my P3 came to the iPad Air 2 and am super happy with it. No glitches at all for the Pilot app. It runs my work apps faster and the battery is incredible.

    I have the cellular version without cellular service for now. I cache the maps either with my phone as a hot spot or at home before I go fly.

    Highly recommended!

    Chris
     
    Havavision likes this.
  7. spankybear

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Washington
    I just bought the ipad air 2 with 16 gb... I am only planing on using it with the P3... I do not like Apple and there marketing... but it seems that as of this moment ipad is the best.
     
    MJF739B likes this.
  8. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    434
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    No. It will work with the WiFi only model.

    Keep in mind the cellular version has the GPS hardware also. WiFi only version does not. If you plan on using the dynamic home point (set the hoe point after the P3 is in the air based on where the controller is) this will only work with the cellular model since the app needs a GPS signal to set the dynamic home point.
     
    Mike Mauk likes this.
  9. Jamison LaGuardia

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you
    This helps
     
  10. AirApparent

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    110
    OK just so I am clear. I will be using the iPad Air 2 WiFi only. I will not be able to set a home point with this? If that is the case, then if I use a hot spot (through cell) for initial take-off, will that allow it to record the home point for RTH? Thanks for clarifying.
     
  11. MJF739B

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    29
    I recently bought an IPad 2 Air 64. No cellular. It works very well with my P3P. This is my first IPad or I anything for that matter. I was shocked as to what I could not do with the IPad 2 Air. Apple is quick to sell you additional accessories to do simple things like read an SD card. Why can't Apple use a standard mini USB plug? I'm done venting. It's a nice tablet. It works well with the P3.
     
  12. Jamison LaGuardia

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    One last question
    If I use my iPhone 6, this would fix the problem with a wifi only iPad Air 2? So using the iPhone 6, would allow me to have the dynamic home point?
     
  13. jlo

    jlo

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    FL
    You won't be able to set a dynamic home point without the cellular version. I have the 16 GB cellular version and it's great. unless you need or want to set a dynamic home point cellular version is irrelevant. Also no need for a lot of gigabytes if you're not going to be using it for iTunes or movies or something like that.
     
  14. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    I just ordered a 16GB WI-FI LTE Air 2 as my Mini 2 was not cutting it in the heat we have here, today it got up to 101º and my iPad pretty much shut down. I was flying in about 90º and on the 3rd battery the FPV started lagging real bad, with video blips. First time this has happened, if I had known I would not have bought it and gone straight to the Air 2. I got the LTE 4G version as I have Verizon for my other phones on the Family Share Plan and a SIM card is only $9.95 a month.
     
  15. rmfa

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    61
    Yes, using the phone as a hotspot will also share the phone's GPS to the iPad. This is what I'm doing. I have a WiFi only iPad Air and iPhone 5s hotspot.
     
  16. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Just to clarify................ you "will" be able to set the initial home point. You "won't" be able to set a "dynamic" home point. That's when you "change" from the initial home point to a "new" home point where the controller is currently located, such as if you've moved to another spot and want return-to-home to now be at that location.
     
  17. AirApparent

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    110
    Thank you for explaining the difference. I am learning an incredible amount on this forum. Can't wait to actually fly this thing, get good at it, and hopefully help others out someday with some advice. Really a great forum. Thanks again.
     
    Mike Mauk likes this.
  18. hasofy

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    18
    II have the iPad Air 2 WiFi, which works great. I've had no issues during 30 flights so far. I use my iPhone as a hotspot before take-off to download map, then I switch on airplane mode on both devices. I have ordered the device holder for Inspire controller, as the plastic one that comes with the Phantom controller makes the large iPad wobble during use and I fear it might break one day.
     
  19. FredSheldon

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    The Woodlands, Texas
    +1 16GB is all you need. Wi-Fi only if you have a hotspot on phone to load maps. Display is much easier to see in bright sunlight than the iPad Mini 2.
     
  20. Bagpuss

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using the iPad Air 2, and can highly recommend it. I've got the cellular version, as I wanted to future proof myself by having GPS. I'm hoping that 3rd party apps will arrive that can implement things like follow me which are likely to rely on a good GPS position from the iPad.

    I'm also using it for editing, and it handles the 4K footage from my Pro with ease. Transcoding to 1080p also happens really quickly either in iMovie or Pinnacle Studio.