I'm new and have a couple questions before I buy!

Reaction score
So I'm highly considering purchasing the Phantom 2 Vision plus but I had a couple questions that maybe you guys could answer for me. First of all, I'm basically a beginner. I've always been into anything aviation, I'm a air traffic controller, have a pilot's license and fly small G.A. planes VFR and have little experience flying Rc planes as a kid. I bought a small quadcopter by Syma (X5C) this past weekend just to get the controls down. Anyways I want to use this Phantom to eventually be able to take it out on the water boating and get some good arial footage out at sea during my weekends. I've seen a lot of youtube videos, one in particular that stood out is called titled "DJI PHANTOM CHASING SUMMER TIME BIMINI, BAHAMAS" on youtube...in this video the pilot is really legit on the sticks..and I was wondering is it normal for the average person like myself to get this good on the controls with practice and if so how long does it take? Secondly, I've done a bunch of research and it seems like the Vision 2 plus is the best quad copter in that price range and I like that there is a lot of good info out on it such as this web site, however how do you guys think this compares to the Walkera X4 Scout? Theres not a ton of reviews out on the X4 Scout but it seems like for a few hundred dollars more I could get something with retract gear, more power, and a legit follow me mode? I'm a simple guy and I want to keep things pretty simple, but at the same time I don't want to "grow out" of the Phantom 2 vision plus 4 months after I get it. What do you guys honestly think? Thanks for your time and I appreciate any advice/input you guys have!

is it normal for the average person like myself to get this good on the controls with practice
---almost anything can be achieved with practice

and if so how long does it take?
---no one can answer this accurately

i don't imagine you will grow out of the Phantom in 4 months.