I won a Phantom, please help me get it working

Reaction score
I was fortunate enough to win a Phantom 1 at a conference I attended recently. As it turns out it's not exactly new; it's apparently been flown several times as evidenced by the scuff marks on it and it looks like someone may have had a gimbal on it. I'm new to multi-rotors but I've been considering building one for a while now, so winning this thing was a nice jump-start into the hobby. Equally surprising though is that when I took it out for my first flight, I got the flashing yellow light which the manual says is no connection to the transmitter.

Googling the issue turns up instructions for switching back from PPM to D-Bus after the last firmware upgrade. Apparently that's a common thing, but it doesn't seem to be the problem I'm having.

Here's what I've been able to determine:
[*] Assistant software shows no feedback when moving the sticks.
[*] It's a version 1.1.1 with the dual antenna RX.
[*] The RX binds to the TX (slow flashing green light on the RX viewed through the battery door, turns red when turning off TX)
[*] Rebinding doesn't help.
[*] Confirmed D-Bus mode in Assistant, even toggled between D-Bus and PPM.
[*] Verified that RX is properly connected to the Naza (fore connector is connected to X1) swapped and tested for good measure, no dice.
[*] Everything inside looks un-damaged.

So it seems that the problem is the Naza which is otherwise functioning normally as far as I can tell, or between the Naza and the RX.

What I might try next is re-applying the firmware, but is there anything else I can try to troubleshoot before I start spending money to replace parts?

Thanks

1. Which assistant software exactly are you running?

2. When you have the Phantom connected to the PC, does the little green or blue dots in the bottom left of the window light up?

3. Are the yellow flashes at a rapid interval, or with a full second in between? No other colors in the flashing pattern?