Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to check for safe flying altitude?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by yali, Jun 28, 2014.

  1. yali

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any body know how to make sure you are flying above a minimum safe altitude ?
     
  2. yali

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a tip: Check the horizon to see any tree tops or building tops are above it, if not, you are safe at this altitude.
     
  3. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yes, if you're no longer crashing into anything, chances are you're above the minimum safe altitude :roll:
     
  4. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    I have the minimum safe attitude app.
     
  5. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    +1 - This is what I do. Go staight up, pan around, reset Home Point at the altitude when I am above everything.
     
  6. yawnalot29

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    116

    That's a great idea. I think I'll make that part of my standard flight check.

    Have you test it out? I saw these discussion here:

    http://www.djiguys.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=5320

    Check out the 2nd post.
     
  7. Garysam

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prior Lake Minnesota
    I've heard of doing this before, but I'm not understanding go figure how exactly do you set home point after liftoff can someone please explain this. Phantom 2
     
  8. yawnalot29

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    116

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJourEiJ77E
     
  9. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Yes it works fine. Whatever altitude you are at when you set, during a Failsafe/RTH the Phantom will climb to that altitude + 20 meters. If you are at or above that altitude + 20 meters, she will maintain her current altitude during Failsafe/RTH. You just hover at the spot & altitude you want to set, then you toggle S2 FIVE times. The rear lights will respond with a rapid green flash when successful. How to toggle S2 depends on whether you are in Vision mode or NAZA mode:

    In Vision mode, toggle S2 from Pos 1-3 FIVE times.

    In NAZA mode, toggle S2 from Pos 2-3 FIVE times.

    (Note, if you are in NAZA mode, but do NOT have IOC enabled, you will have to test which one works)
     
  10. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    This is a joke right? Never heard of it.
     
  11. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA

    :lol:
     
  12. dkatz42

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Heh, I've never flown mine anywhere flat enough to have a consistent horizon. Someday I'll have to take it back to the midwest and see what it's like to fly without obstacles...