Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How many are running the 30 degree upward tilt?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Shep, Oct 4, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Shep

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Like some of you folks, I find myself needing more sky in a lot of my shots. I am just curious how many of you folks are running your gimbal/camera with the upward tilt? Since I have not tried it yet: is it adjustable or is it 30 up or nothing in between?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,871
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    When enabled, it's adjustable up to 30 degrees. You can control the camera with the wheel -- just like you do when you tilt it down.
     
  3. Shep

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Msinger, do you run it on yours? If so at what degree, to keep the props out of the pic?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,871
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    I don't use it. If the props are in the pic, then try flying backward. That'll cause the Phantom to tilt and should allow you to tilt the camera up further.
     
    Lefty63 and Digdat0 like this.
  5. Shep

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Yes, I am aware of the backwards flight, but that was not really my intention for the OP. I was trying to find out who is using this setting to go beyond "level" and to what degree to avoid props. Or at least minimize props.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,871
    Likes Received:
    5,559
    Location:
    US
    In that case, you're going to need to lay out the specific scenario:
    • Are you shooting video or photos?
    • Is your Phantom traveling forward or backward?
    • How fast is your Phantom traveling?
    • How fast is the wind blowing?
    • What ISO is the camera set to?
    I guess you can see where this is heading. There is not a specific angle that works well in every scenario.
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,442
    That's what you have to do if you want to capture great skies.
    Sometimes you have to do a little tidying up in Photoshop if you want extra high.
    [​IMG]
     
    theTastyCat and auen1 like this.
  8. Woodsong

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    69
    I run my phanton 3P with the 30 degree up angle enabled. No set angle to make sure props aren't in the pic...lots of variables with each flight as already stated so just have to look at each capture to make sure props aren't there.
     
  9. Ajriek

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
  10. Shep

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Thanks guys - that is what I was looking for :)
     
  11. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    I have +30 enabled but don't go above 0 if flight. I use it mainly when hovering for shooting frames for later stitching to pano's. If props are in frame u just remove them with the content aware tools in photoshop pre stitching. I'd rather have the extra sky to crop out later than not have enough. A bit of fiddling but often worth the effort.
     
  12. DefaultIT

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    74
    I have the extended range enabled as well. I do occasionally get props in frame but I shoot 4K and almost always finish in 1080, so it's pretty rare to get it bad enough I can't push in or cut around it
     
  13. Banderboy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    68
    I wasn't even aware of the option. Guess I need to RTFM.
     
  14. theTastyCat

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    92
    Yeah, it's come in handy a few times, especially if flying low with any chance of obstacles nearby. Nice just to look up and check.

    Also, I believe that when I use DronePan for panos, now with +30 on it does a higher shot, giving more of the sky! Again, you may get some props in the shot but that's fixable with a little magic.
     
  15. Vichian-Bruno

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Thailand
    Nope, it's disabled and had no particular need to enable it till now.
     
  16. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Yes, I have it enabled...
     
  17. lil boss

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Wow, You are lightyears ahead of me of quality of photos. Nice Work !
     
  18. Tracerfire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's just as easy to clone more sky in using photoshop as it is to edit out props.
     
  19. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    Perhaps. I have done both. I am comfortable with my workflow. I noticed an error in my post where I said "u" instead of "I". My intent was to say what I do. I prefer the content aware tools particularity where there is a lot of detail in the sky as for me it gives a more natural looking outcome.
     
  20. jephoto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    179
    I shoot more stills than video. When I have a great sky & doing panos I'll do a row tilted up, centered and down to get three rows for stitching.
    If props show a bit, Photoshop a bit and done.
    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    Lefty63 likes this.