Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How Accurate it auto takeoff and RTH ?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by cassalatico, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. cassalatico

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    2
    As the title goes, I have found a really good flying area close to my home the problem is that the field is fenced off with barbed wire. I would be taking off from a pathway on this side of the fence then flying over the other. As I'm a beginner let's say there was zero wind and I auto takeoff how much could the craft possibly move left or right ? And again on RTH and auto land would it be accurate enough to avoid the fence and land close to the path set as my home point? Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    I would plan for at least a 20 foot difference -- just in case. From my experience, I found it usually lands within 10 feet of the home point.
     
  3. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    wouldn't chance it sounds like a disaster waiting to happen
     
  4. cassalatico

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    2
    And what would takeoff tolerances be in terms of auto takeoff accuracy


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Mine normally does an RTH within a 20' diameter circle around the Home Point. I don't really use auto-takeoff but when I lift off manually she usually hovers within just 2--3'. You should be right there with the controller in your hand in case manual intervention is required on takeoff or landing.
     
    #5 Dirty Bird, Mar 6, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2016
  6. AirSpace2016

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    18
    I use auto take off quite frequently. I find if there is wind it will drift slightly enough that I counter the wind and then its fine. If there is no wind then it just hovers
     
  7. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    always use auto take off never have did it manually from the start it works great
     
  8. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    750
    Location:
    Australia
    Your RTH accuracy is as good as the horizontal positional accuracy spec quoted by DJI. Not good enough to be safe in most curcumstances.

    On the occasions i have relied on RTH i have cancelled out as soon as i regained control of the aircraft. I experimented with letting it get close to landing once and was suorised how far of the mark it was, would have dipped the camera in wet sand and salt water if i let it complete.

    Auto take off is actally more effort than a csc followed by throttling up and you need to take your eyes iff the aircraft to play with the app.

    Why do you need to take off right next to the fence?
     
  9. artichoke

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'd try in a more open area five times and see how accurate it is. I read in another thread that the accuracy depends on whether your tablet itself has GPS capability.

    My tablet is an old Ipad 4 (not mini) for which I have an extender on the holder. It doesn't have GPS capability and so my RTH radius is more than it would be with a newer tablet or phone, so I have to account for that.