Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    I need help, anyone else here using an Android tablet with the problem of the DJI GO app not seeing through the camera at startup? I did, and decided to update my P4's firmware through the DJI GO app as recommended by DJI.

    Long story short, I updated the firmware, and now the app will not recognize my drone as a Phantom 4, but rather an Inspire 1. Moreover, when I plug in my old and large iPad Retina it identifies the drone correctly. What the heck? Is there a way for me to verify my drones' firmware version?

    Is there a way to fit this? Is it even safe to fly the drone??? I would think not!
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    Did you try swiping the Inspire 1 photo to the left/right to get to the Phantom list?
     
  3. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    Yes, and when I do, the "camera" button reverts to the "how to connect" stuff.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    It sounds like you might have only updated the Phantom or remote controller firmware. Did you install the update exactly like this?
     
  5. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA

    I wish I would have seen this BEFORE I clicked the update bar... I "think" I did, but cannot be certain. I do have more than one battery though, what do you think I should do next? I know that's an open ended question, but let me ask you this, is there any way for me to verify what firmware version exists on the drone, the controller, and batteries? Thank you for chiming in and helping, I really do appreciate it.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    Did you click the update bar in the DJI GO home screen (where the photo of the P4 displays) or in the camera view?
     
  7. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    In the home screen
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    The firmware versions display in the About section of DJI GO, so you'll need to get in there to see them. Here's what I recommend you do (in this order):

    1) Reinstall DJI GO.
    2) If you're still not able to get into the camera view, then try downgrading your remote controller (like this).
     
  9. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA

    okay, I will give that a shot.. see you in a few. thanks!
     
  10. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA

    No joy :(
    Screenshot_20160725-113121.png
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    I missed this part:
    Can you see the version numbers in DJI GO on your iPad?

    For your Android tablet, did you try a different USB cable? Perhaps your cable is not working.
     
  12. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    image.png
    Yes. I can see the version number when using the iPad, and with regards to trying other USB cables, no luck with that being the issue. I was thinking, would the DJI Assistant 2 software possibly work?
     
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    On your iPad, which firmware versions do you see in the "General Settings" --> "About" section of DJI GO?
     
  14. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    image.png
    I'm sorry, I'm not sure I follow, do you mean in here?
     
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    No. You said DJI GO identifies your drone properly on your iPad. Are you able to get to the camera view in DJI GO? If so, go to the "General Settings" --> "About" section of DJI GO to see which firmware is currently installed.
     
  16. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    20160725_122714.jpg
    Okay, here we go.. Sorry about that.
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    Your firmware versions look good. You have the latest version installed on both your Phantom and remote controller.

    What kind of Android tablet are you using?
     
  18. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    A Galaxy S2

    My drone battery was getting low.. Remember my saying that I had more batteries? I changed the battery and was given the message that the firmware was inconsistent. Low and behold, I slid the bar across to update the firmware on the battery, and now with this battery, the drone shows the correct information on the Android tablet. So I swapped another battery, repeated the process and the same thing.. However, when I go back to that original battery, all I get is the Inspire. Ever hear of something as wacky as that?
     
  19. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    Never. That's very odd. You won't get the firmware update notification when using your original battery since it was already installed when you updated the Phantom firmware.
     
  20. VFA22Bonefish

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    Does this mean that this battery is hosed? At least until the next firmware release?