Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

h4-3d tilt control wont work

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by dakotawint, Feb 25, 2015.

  1. dakotawint

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, has anyone had any issues with the tilt control not working on the new Phantom 2 h4-3d package? or anyway i can fix this? everything appears to be hooked up correctly.
     
  2. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Can you desribe what is NOT working for you. For Example, you are doing what on the transmitter and expecting what to happen on the Gimbal. Also, a screen shot of the Gimbal settings page from Naza Assistant would help. And which mode are you in for the gimbal tile. Advanced or Basic?
     
  3. dakotawint

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry i'm super new to all of this! When I plug it into my GoPro a redlight shows up, so it's hooked up somewhat properly. From what i've looked into, the new controller of the Phantom 2 has a tilt control scroll on the side, whenever I do this, the gimbal does not tilt or adjust itself. It just faces downward. It doesn't do anything when I turn the Phantom on either.
     
  4. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    If the red light is on then the GoPro battery is being charged by the Phantom battery. Did you hook up the Gimbal by using the interference board or is the gimbal plugged directly into the cable coming out of the bottom of the Phantom?
    You say it does nothing when you turn it on but that the GoPro is facing downward. Is the gimbal stabilized? if you pick up the phantom and tilt it around does the gimbal keep the GoPro steady?
    When the Phantom is on and the red light is on is the Gimbal loose? can you tilt and roll the GoPro or does it resist any movement?
    Can you check these 3 screens in your Naza Assistant software and see if you notice any differences in settings.
    You should see Gimbal Switch ON

    Is your transmitter set to Basic or Upgrade?

    What's your Gimbal Gain and Limits set to?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. dakotawint

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    It's plugged into the cable coming out of the Phantom. The gimbal is not stabilized. I'm sorry for being such a newb, i've only had this for 3 days and just NOW downloaded Naza and have no clue what im doing.
     
  6. dakotawint

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Dude, you need to go through all of the setup routines. Google setting up a new phantom 2 and follow those instuctions. You have lots of calibration to do on your remote.
     
  8. ThePhantom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just calibrate your X1 using the DJI Assistant.

    0. Read the Manual
    1. Turn on TX
    2. Turn on Phantom 2 w/ GoPro
    3. Connect Phantom 2 w/ GoPro to PC running DJI Assistant Software (after installing all necessary drivers)
    4. Go to BASIC --> RC --> Click START buttons (might as well calibrate both)
    5. Move your L/R Control Sticks at all extremes (or in a circle) and release.
    6. Turn your Tilt Control Wheel fully up and fully down then release.
    7. Click Finish.

    You have now calibrated your tilt control and your rc. Fine tune it on the Gimbal tab.

    8. Read the Manual.
     
  9. dakotawint

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    My computer is picking up that something is plugged in, but even when I spin the joysticks nothing happens on the program :(

    Ahhhh!!! I am so dumb!!! I've been watching tutorials all morning and I can't figure out what i'm doing wrong. I did however get the gimbal to atleast move a little on previous start up, so I've made progress.
     
  10. ThePhantom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    Install the drivers first.

    *download it from the DJI Website
     
  11. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX