Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gps needed???

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Newtodji, Jul 10, 2015.

  1. Newtodji

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Westport CT
    Hello all, I recently traveled about 300 miles to fly phantom and when I tried to calibrate it the first step went fine but then when I turned it so the light was up and performed the second step in the calibration the red light flashes meaning that calibration failed. I was in large parking lot and had no metal objects on me (phone, keys, pants zipper, car). So I plugged it into my computer and all the settings I set were off (IOC FS) so when I went to check the box to turn on IOC it said "gps needed" and I am not sure how to get gps? Do I need to buy a part for it so it can get gps?
    Thanks
     
  2. paulajayne

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bocking - England
    Was there REBAR in the parking lot as that may have affected it.
     
  3. Newtodji

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Westport CT
    It was just a gravel ground level lot with no lights or anything of that nature
     
  4. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Metal stuff all around shouldn't have anything to do with getting GPS reception. It'll screw things up for your COMPASS calibration, but not GPS.
     
  5. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Take it back out there, set it down and power it up and let it sit for a couple of minutes. Don't worry about the lights. Then power down and back up and do the compass dance. If I remember right, that's what I did with mine.
     
  6. Newtodji

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Westport CT
    Ok thanks for the help
     
  7. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
  8. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    I'm NOT the one to give advice here yet....but....can you really get it level enough to do a good calibration....on gravel ???
     
  9. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    IMU calibration needs to be done on a level surface, but the OP is talking about the compass calibration. Totally different and separate things.