Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

gps lock

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by cdusher, Oct 9, 2014.

  1. cdusher

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Crossville, Tennessee, USA
    I have had a vision 2 for some time and don't have problems with it.
    Just obtained a vision 2+.
    I ran it through the software changed to naza-m, calibrated the compass and went for a test flight.
    When I powered up the best result I could achieve with the lights was red, green, red, green.
    One time I did see the multiple green lights, but it went back to red, green.
    Switch was set to gps mode, but when I took off it appeared to be in atti mode.
    I only lifted off a few feet and landed.
    The assistant said the imu status was ok, but I ran the advanced call anyway
    Not sure what I'm missing here.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. job2310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    Whether S1 is on GPS or not is irrelevant if you aren't seeing 6+ satellites in the vision app. Taking off with less than 6 will always mean you're in Atti mode as the bird doesnt know where it is.

    I would highly suggest reading the pilot guide in the thread below if you haven't already. It contains a wealth of knowledge no matter what you skill level is and will answer a lot of questions you might have.

    viewtopic.php?f=27&t=23597
     
  3. smallman28

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    In theory you could take off on the red/green as that is showing 6 satellites which should be enough.
    But the saying goes more is better :)
     
  4. cdusher

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Crossville, Tennessee, USA
    Thanks for the replays.
    Not sure what was going on last night.
    For some reason I could not get more than 6 satellites.
    This morning I tried and had 7.
    Bad conditions I'm guessing.
     
  5. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Well 7 is not great either. I would keep an eye on that. Are you in a hole shielded from the horizon?

    Satellites can be crucial in certain conditions. As an example if you lose connectivity with your phantom and drop to 5 sats your Phantom has no way of knowing how to return to home and just starts to drift where ever the wind may take it.