GPS for Ground Control Points

Reaction score
Can anyone recommend a basic GPS instrument that would be good for making ground control points to be used with mapping software?

Could setup something like Swiftnavs Piksi or any of these small L1/L2 band GNSS recievers.... Pretty sure they do an L1 only receiver too. Really.... you need access to an RTK system to make it super easy. I have a JAVAD system, but I'm also a surveyor..

Basic equipment will yield basic results. GNSS is the way to go. Contact your local Trimble (or equivalent) dealer and rent the equipment or subcontract the gcp's out. Handheld GPS units will either be not accurate or not precise, almost never will they be both let alone one or the other. Equally as important as the tool gathering the data is the person interpreting it so allowing a professional familiar with gathering high precision location data to add their 0.02 cents to the collection is never a bad thing. I see contractors who use GPS machine controls think they are gathering good data when in reality they are not, then they call asking why things are off.
Best of luck!

Just entering the world of 3D. I fly a P4P. Please tell me the primary differences between these GCP devices like those mentioned above vs. "X marks the spot", or physically placing visual marks on the ground in the images and calibrated in post production (AutoDesk applications). Thanks in advance....

Please tell me the primary differences