Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GoPro

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by jirinec, Oct 30, 2014.

  1. jirinec

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to start taking Aerial Photos with my Quad Copter

    Im using the Hero 3+

    My questions is what is the best way to take the photos. People suggested that i take a video and screen shot the photo, others say use time laps and just set it low and take the best picture..

    What does everyone think?
     
  2. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Iowa, United States
    A screen shot is limited by the resolution of your monitor.
    If you using the GoPro for FPV, then time-lapse may not be your best option.
    You can set the camera to do video and photos together, but again FPV maybe an issue.

    I video, then use QuickTime Pro to export an image sequence and use those exported frames for still images. Other software I would imagine can perform the same function, possibly even GoPro Studio (?).
     
  3. tgreenstone

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hudson Valley NY Drone
    GoPro studio does have the ability to export a image sequence. It is on the menu bar under "share". "Export still" is what you want, plus it then allows you to choose resolution quality.
     
  4. CaptMike

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Myrtle Beach
    Wrong.

    Export. Here's one of mine from a video.
     

    Attached Files:

    • CG2.jpg
      CG2.jpg
      File size:
      852.7 KB
      Views:
      125
  5. aggiesrwe03

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    College Station, Texas
    the Hero3 Hero3+ & Hero4 have a setting that will take time lapse still photos while shooting video. Photos are saved in the same folder as the video, works well I used it every time I flew when I had my blade.

    http://youtu.be/6yPgRb9e1_w
     
  6. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    You will not get as high resolution in video modes and given the way the imager works, a still taken from video will not have the same quality as a photograph taken at the same resolution.
     
  7. p fandango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    I set mine to record video & take a picture ever 10seconds