Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

go pro problem video is broken up

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by dlorton, May 24, 2013.

  1. dlorton

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mission viejo ca
    Tried go pro for first time. 1080p-60fps Video is clear,no jello, BUT video is segmented.looks like it starts and stops every second,very consistent. Any help is appreciated Thanks Dennis
     
  2. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    You must use a class 10 SD card, so GoPro requires fast read/write data while shoting HD rates
     
  3. dlorton

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mission viejo ca
    Thank u thats what i have. Its my laptop, works fine on my sons. thanks Dennis
     
  4. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
  5. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    there's nothing wrong with your video!

    this sounds like merely a playback issue

    If it plays back fine on one computer, but not on another (like a laptop), the problem you're encountering is that your laptop is incapable of decompressing/playing back the movie in realtime, so it starts skipping and stopping.

    decompressing gopro footage at 1080 at 60fps is very CPU intensive, and most computers can't keep up.
    as the codec that the GoPro encodes video is a beast.

    If you wish to play it back in realtime you'll need to convert it to another codec , frame size or playback rate.

    The easiest way to do so is to to use the free GoPro Cineform software.
    but be warned, a 1gb gopro movie will turn into a 4GB movie - yet the 4gb will play back smoothly and allow you to more easily edit the video in post.
     
  6. Banjer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had similair issues with my MacBook Air and 2011 iMac. In both cases using VLC as player instead of Quicktime gave me smooth playback.
     
  7. FangsCPO

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chula Vista, CA
    Yup VLC is the way to go if you want to view the video in raw. Once I do the video conversion to a Window Media HD Movie, it plays fine.