Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced GO App 2.4.1 missing Format data recorder

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by TC Malker, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    Missing from the 2.4.1 version is the option to format the data recorder. How come? Let's hear all the conspiracy theories.
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    frankwangsmiling.jpg What's up :)
     
  3. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    dirkclod likes this.
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Don't think he cares bob :)
    If I had his money I would buy me some hair ;)
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  5. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    For sure:D:D
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  6. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    Let's stay on topic...

    This is serious considering you lose the option to erase all traces of evidence in case of a crash. Your phantom could fall into a yard of a serial killer who can access your log file and find out where you live. I needed to be able to remotely erase said files.
     
  7. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,632
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    gunnery2.gif Okey-dokey then :)
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  8. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    You never could remotely erase files from a P3 that wasnt powered on. Most that crash, in serial killers yards or elsewhere, dont usually remain on!
     
  9. jimq

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello !

    Actually, i find it quite annoying that it seems not possible to delete the internal flight logs from the phantom.

    What e.g. if i want to sell the phantom, but i do not want to reveal all the gps coordinates of relatives where i flew in the garden to the next owner ? - There are many legitimate reasons why deleting this should be possible.

    I have just received my phantom today and think about returning it for this reason.
    I fly since many years so crashing and then running away is for sure not the reason.. - did you find a way how to delete this ?
    I thought about whether removing the card and then DDing the contents to a raw dump file could be an option, but the card holder seems to be glued in plus in addition, there is a piece of plastic above it - so it is not easy to get to.. - If they are mean they maybe have enabled some of the SD features making this even impossible.. - Did you find a way of fixing this or should i go back to open source autopilots and just forget about all this DJI stuff ?

    Cheers

    J.