Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal problems

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Zippy1144, Mar 1, 2014.

  1. Zippy1144

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set up my new Phantom 2 with zenmuse gimbal tonight. Everything seemed to be working so I shut it off. Later, when I turned it on again...the zenmuse would start off in the proper level angle...but a few seconds later, would tilt over and point straight at the ground. I downloaded updated software and now the gimbal stays in the proper horizontal pitch, but moving the lever on the back of the controller has no affect on the gimbal at all. Frankly, I don't care whether it tilts or not, since I want to keep the camera pointing parallel to the horizon, but there seems to be a big problem with the calibration which I can't seem to solve.
     
  2. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Try some Viagra or Cialis.

    Sorry - obviously kidding. Not sure what's going on there but it doesn't sound too serious. I have had the opposite before where the gimbal stays all limp but by the time I've acquired GPS, it levels itself and works properly.

    I'm sure some of the more experienced will chime in and will help out.
     
  3. Zippy1144

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heh, yeah the problem is kind of like ED. Maybe I should take it to a urololigist. I think you may have something with waiting until all the systems have a chance to crank up. I hope to take it on its first test flight tomorrow.
     
  4. Zippy1144

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took it for a test flight this morning and the gimbal worked the way I wanted. It kept the camera pointed at the horizon. The down side....the lever on the back of the controller does not cause any response in the zenmuse. It's not a big problem, since I don't need to change pitch....but I worry there may be a problem down the road when it decided to mysteriously pitch over or some such. Thank you, in advance, for your time and advice.
     
  5. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,928
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    The gimbal gives up after a while if it encounters too much imbalance or resistance. Is the GoPro mounted with its battery, SD card, the retaining bracket and nothing else? Does the gimbal appear to be balanced when it is off? Is it clear of anything that can block its movement?
     
  6. Zippy1144

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Battery = yes
    SD card = yes
    Unencumbered retaining bracket = yes
    Gimbal is balanced when off...but it can be turned and manipulated as expected.
    No encumbrances.

    I turn on the controller first; then the Phantom. The camera goes into the default position.
     
  7. a1key

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the exact same problems. What I have done so far is remove the lever and using a tweezer to turn the square post that the lever attaches to I can operate the camera tilt fine.(had to turn post a couple of turns) So I reattached the lever and found that if I tighten the screw completely it quits working. I removed screw and lever again and then put back together only tightening the screw 3/4 of the way and it works. Tomorrow I will try shortening the screw by a few threads and see what that does.
     
  8. Zippy1144

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    @a1key...
    As I've searched this site, checked google and read reviews, I have discovered I am not alone with this problem. As I think back about it, everything was fine until I did the upgrade of the gimbal/controller. That seems to be the problem. I read quite a few solutions, but I'd rather just leave it as is, with the default horizontal view. I just want to leave well-enough alone until dji comes up with a less cumbersome solution.