Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal not responding to app

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by Alan Silvestri, Apr 17, 2015.

  1. Alan Silvestri

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Software is all up to date.
    The gimbal seems to 'self calibrate' normally on power up.
    There's a nice clear picture on the iPhone.
    Can't get the gimbal to respond to the up and down arrows on the app. in camera mode. Fpv mode is disabled. The Accelerometer button toggles normally but the tilt status bar on the right side of the screen remains grey with the topmost part red and won't move. Also noticed that when I move the left stick side to side (yaw) there is a slight movement of the gimbal.
    Tried reinstalling the app and have done both Phantom and RC calibrations.
    Any thoughts would help.
    Thanks!!!
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    What kind of Phantom do you have? Do you have a tilt wheel on your remote controller?
     
  3. Alan Silvestri

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a recently purchased Phantom Vision 2 +. The RC has the tilt wheel.
    The RC is model NPVT581 and I've checked the "Upgrade Version" box in the
    Phantom 2 assist app
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    And, you followed these steps exactly?

     
  5. Alan Silvestri

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will check.
     
  6. David Bower

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  7. David Bower

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes I had this problem yesterday - accidently recalibrated thumbwheel on top
    LHS of RC whilst switching to NAZAM mode. I fixed it by hooking up to the
    PC assistant & switching on the RC. Then went to the Basic tab and the
    RC drop down tab. Click on the X1 Recalibrate button and wiggle the thumb
    wheel - you should see the graphic above centralise and now everything should
    work. Hope this helps.
     
    Rickm likes this.
  8. Alan Silvestri

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    On
     
  9. Alan Silvestri

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my way home to try it
    Thanks!!!
     
  10. Alan Silvestri

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    David,
    Worked like a charm.
    Thanks to all who helped...
     
  11. Rickm

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mandan, North Dakota
    My phantom 2 Vision + did the same thing after a software update. The gymbol stopped working, the camera working great, flying was great, everything but the gymbal worked. I found I had to reset the phantom. There is no reset button you have to actually short across 2 pins on the processor to make this happen and then reload the software. I found this . If you follow it exactly as he shows it, your gymbal should work. I did and now everything is working great again. I didn't use the wire jumpers like he did, I got a small jumper from a computer store and that worked good. Good luck
     
    Mako79 likes this.
  12. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Fkn Wow!!!
    This should be a sticky.
    This will enable users to roll back firmware.
    Just download 1.08 if you want some freedom...
    http://www.droneslinger.com/software.html