Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Getting my P3S Thursday, quad newbie looking for advice.

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by daytonlawvol, Oct 18, 2016.

1. daytonlawvol

as I am a quad newbie I have to ask for advice before my P3S comes in Thursday. What would you recommend for me/recommend against when it comes to effectively operating the P3S? Accessories to get: to avoid. What is the Litchi app? Just looking for overall advice for beginners...thanks!

2. msinger

Approved Vendor

You can find a lot of tips and commonly used accessories at PhantomHelp.com. Litchi is an alternative to DJI GO. It would be a good idea to start with DJI GO and try other 3rd party apps after you master that. Depending on what you plan to do with your Phantom, DJI GO might do everything you need it to do.

3. extremetm

My first month I took it to an open field and went real slow. Had it on Beginner mode the first two flights. Then disabled that but put distance\altitude limits making sure it was always in eyesight. Once I got comfortable with that, I opened it up. For me personally GPS mode mode with RTH is just fine for now. I may or may not ever put it in Atti mode.

The main thing is to move the controller sticks slow and easy and don't panic. Let it hover if you need to think about what you're going to do next etc.

I got a backpack to travel. Heading to NY in two weeks and can't wait to fly it there. A parabolic antenna booster more than doubled my distance. You can pick one up for around $8.

4. captainmilehigh

Once you get your Phantom, take your time getting started. Read the manual front to back. Then do it again. There is a lot of important information you need to know before you fly. While you are waiting for your bird to arrive, check out msinger's site 'Phantomhelp.com'. It has a bunch of useful information on everything Phantom. Be sure to select the appropriate box at the top of the page for your P3S. Also, msinger is a regular on Phantompilots.