Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Follow me mode

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by wakebrdr94, Feb 12, 2016.

  1. wakebrdr94

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    So I was trying to get the P3S into follow me mode, and it kept giving me a message about GPS not strong enough. I had 11 satellites and it would not go. Using the DJI app and an iPhone 6.

    Anyone know if I'm missing something??


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. gsweig

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I believe you need the phone/tablet to have the GPS turned on
     
  3. D Myers

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    19
    Maybe the phone did not have enough satellites for an accurate position of you. The satellite count in the DJI go app is the count the quad copter is seeing.

    Go into the maps app and see what the location circle looks like showing the accuracy of your location.

    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. wakebrdr94

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    The location in google maps looks pretty accurate.

    So this is based on the location of the phone? If I were to use an iPad mini, non cellular kind, I couldn't use this feature at all?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. D Myers

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    19
    That is correct. There is no technical means for the quad to know where you are on the earth without a gps location. The mini without cellular does not have a gps chipset as that is part of the cellular chip.

    If you Bluetooth hotspot share your phone connection, this information may be shared to the mini iPad; but I have not confirmed this.