Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flying without a phone

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Phantomix, Jan 25, 2016.

  1. Phantomix

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Weston, MA
    What happens if you try to fly a phantom 3 without using a phone? I mean if you started the drone, started the controller, and did the CSC command and brought it up? would it be the same except you cant see the camera and control other things like intelligent flight modes, or would it just not take off or something?
     
    Badfinger likes this.
  2. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    yep... works the same... just no FPV or info.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,890
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    Location:
    US
    After registering your Phantom in the DJI GO app, it's possible to fly without a mobile device. I do not recommend it though. The DJI GO app provides a lot of valuable flight information.
     
  4. koop

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    what abought hdmi monitor ? i am connected with hdmi monitor and have osd showing? will that work with no phone ?

    Sent from my SM-P905 using Tapatalk
     
  5. koop

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    i mean what happens if my phone dies all of a sudden ?

    Sent from my SM-P905 using Tapatalk
     
  6. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Probably be best to use the RTH button, or if within sight no reason to panic just fly home when you're ready.
    You can stop recording with the controller buttons.
    With the P2 you could switch to home lock and bring it towards you regardless of orientation, but you need the app for that now.
     
  7. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,515
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    The Phantom would fly but I highly recommend not flying without a device. You won't see any error messages and have no info on the battery. It's just an accident waiting to happen.
     
  8. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,650
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    You can fly it once RC is linked to P3 but too risky to fly without telemetry.
     
  9. koop

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    But on HDMI monitor I have telemetry! My question is. Will the monitor continue working if my phone goes?

    Sent from my SM-N915F using Tapatalk
     
  10. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,650
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes it will.
     
    koop likes this.
  11. koop

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks

    Sent from my SM-N915F using Tapatalk
     
  12. Rumbaar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    The HDMI output does not output all the data present in the Go App, FYI.
     
  13. koop

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am not sure what data exactly are you referring to. In at app you can enable telemetry on the HDMI monitor. And it does work, where ever its all of the data I am not sure. But the fps on the monitor is amazing

    Sent from my SM-N915F using Tapatalk
     
  14. koop

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    uploadfromtaptalk1453803068245.jpeg uploadfromtaptalk1453803074579.jpeg uploadfromtaptalk1453803077927.jpeg

    Sent from my SM-N915F using Tapatalk
     
  15. Rumbaar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Well you have the setup, so can test it yourself directly. You can test this with the blades off, if you're concerned. Also you can clearly see what is output to the HDMI and your phone GO App and see the difference. So not sure.
     
    koop likes this.
  16. koop

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes I was concerned but the idea with prop off sounds great thanks

    Sent from my SM-N915F using Tapatalk
     
  17. Imabiggles

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    84
    All the cautions about flying without a phone have me confused. "You will not have flight data", "no battery info", etc. Yeah, that's obvious but those must be cautions from folks who have only flown the P3. Years of helos, fixed wing, quads and P1 under my belt - flying without a device aint no big thing if you can keep orientation, line of sight and remember batteries drain over time. Its all good.

    B
     
    TheRealNick and andy238 like this.
  18. sdharris

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    South West, England
    It'll be like the original Phantom days, a lot of good judgment required but still fun. How quickly we have become accustomed to telemetry ;-)
     
  19. Rumbaar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm sure at one point the horse and buggy was the pinnacle of transportation, it's hard to go back to a less technological advancements.
     
  20. Phantomfreak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    70
    I've done it before, It will fly just like any other quad that doesn't use a tablet. It will still have GPS and will fly just the same, you just need to fly the old fashioned way, by eyeballing it.. The P3 is technologically complicated so its a good idea to have the phone or tablet so you can see all pertinent flight info though..