Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flying with GPS disabled

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by varomedia, Oct 6, 2014.

  1. varomedia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to fly with the GPS plug removed? Has anyone tried this?

    I have clearance from the airport to fly within a No Fly Zone to take some aerials of a sporting event held next to an airport early next year.
     
  2. Noël

    Noël Guest

    Use ATTI mode. It will not use GPS, and bypass the restrictions
     
  3. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sure about this? I was in a restricted zone in Naza mode on my Phantom and it would not launch on any mode, GPS or ATTI. The restriction is still in place.
     
  4. Noël

    Noël Guest

    I'm still using the old software so can not test it, but what I've been told is by using ATTI it was bypassing the restrictions.

    Did you maybe start it up in GPS mode?
     
  5. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    ATTI mode will not bypass the restrictions with current firmware.

    Sent from Samsung S4 via Tapatalk
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    As Noel mentions the Phantom is quite capable of flying without GPS input, but I'm curious what about your planned shoot would have any bearing on that?
     
  7. varomedia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    The shoot is a rugby game over a sports field, drone would never be more than 70m from me and not more than 50m high. i have a few windows between flights, the airport is not particularly busy.