Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flying from outdoors into a manf. building

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Fyod, Nov 5, 2014.

  1. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    I should soon be flying an interesting job from outside into a building where a company manufactures large products.
    The opening is large enough for a truck, so I'm not afraid of that. Ceilings are about 20ft. high.
    What I need to know is what to expect during the transition from outside/inside. The structure is made of huge steel I beams. Most things inside are metal. The builders said there are problems with GSM signal and wifi inside.
    I'm in Naza-M mode for IOC, should I flip from GPS into Naza (manual is not set in my settings) or just let it lose GPS and keep going? Should I expect any compass problems?
    I have a plan B, which is building a small trolley that the Phantom would "pull around", but would be heavy enough to not allow and drifting/flyaway and would not allow more lift than the bungees allow. This would also be nice for small places like inside a house.
    Anyone happen to know the approx. lift power for full throttle in kg?

    Oh and there won't be anything that could be damaged in case control is lost. Pretty much just an empty huge production plant.
     
  2. Cloud9

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    http://youtu.be/mPRq-ymJd5A

    If you're basically trying to do this (start at 1:10 mark) then you need to start the flight in Attitude mode.
    Whether you start the flight outside or not, going inside a building in GPS is never a good idea.
    The Phantom will end up "hunting" for satellites and either defaulting to Attitude mode anyway, or crashing.
     
  3. badbrad97

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    What cloud9 said. Even worse, it bounces in and out of GPS mode for a few seconds after you enter the building and fights the controls. You may have experienced this flying into a heavy canopy of trees and with intermittent GPS signal.

    Start in ATT and stay in ATT
     
  4. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Great video, thanks for that.
    That is basically what I'm going for. So in this case would I start the flight with right switch in atti before even starting up the bird?
    Thus it will never have home lock (that's ok) and RTH will not be available during that flight (also ok).
    I also expect that Course Lock doesn't work in Atti?
     
  5. Cloud9

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    You can start the Phantom in whichever mode you want but don't take off before switching to Atti (no GPS)

    CL may work since it doesn't rely on GPS but not gonna guarantee that

    No GPS means no /HL/RTH
    You wouldn't want to use either inside anyway.
     
  6. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Curious to know if CL works differently in ATTI than GPS. Haven't tried it in ATTI. In GPS, CL uses GPS to hold the course.
     
  7. q8f1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great advice above, you could also switch the set-up from RTH to land, just in case. Thx for sharing, Cheers Mark
     
  8. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Can anyone confirm if CL works in Atti?
     
  9. probonic

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I would imagine CL should work in atti mode as the only information it needs is orientation and it can get that from the compass.
     
  10. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    So it worked nicely. Only problem was it was slightly windy so going from outside inside in Atti was a challenge, but it worked.
    It is really weird that the bird keeps drifting, took a while to get used to, but the space was large enough that I could easily play around.
    Forgot to test CL, it would've helped because I lost sense of orientation a couple times.
    May go and fly again tomorrow.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    What is the purpose of this flight inside the building, if I may ask out of curiosity?
     
  12. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Its newly built and they need a presentation flick for investors.