Fly-away and crash at 30mph...

Reaction score
Hello to all of you experimented P4 users...

I've had quite a bad day, as my P4Pro went crazy and crashed in a cliff at 80 mph (yup...).
I'm looking for some clues about what happened and if, as a pilot, I had anything to do with this.

A little bit of context below, but feel free to ask me anything that could help:

- I was doing a surveying mission in a remote area along a cliff. No GPS signal here, so I had to launch the mission in OPTI mode. I disconnected the ground sensors in order to reach 30m, then reactivated them while in flight. Maybe a bit clumsy, but it seemed to work perfectly fine for the first flight, quite sporty though when shifting from OPTI to ATTI, but everything went well. Absolutely no wind, calibration done before each flight.

- During the second flight, I totally lost control over the UAV. It made its own decision (no warnings or so before, except regarding the fact that I had reached the max altitude), and it was a very poor one. It decided to accelerate with no limit whatsoever until it hit a cliff at almost 80mph, and falled along the cliff to hit the ground 30 meters below. No need to say it is now in very bad condition...

- I've got no video recording to show, as I'm only using it as a camera. I was using it (and fully aware about that) with no GPS positionning: it seems that phantomhelp doesn't manage files without GPS positions (maybe I'm wrong here?), so there's no viewer available. Anayway the txt flight log is atttached. There's also a video of the last minute of flight as viewed by the DJI Go log viewer available here: Dropbox - 20170809_150206.mp4
I can send any other document if required for a better understanding.

Any clue about what happened would be really appreciated, and sorry about english mistakes, frenchman pilot here...

Thanks by advance for any help.

Cheers

Attachments

• DJIFlightRecord_2017-08-09_[08-42-46].txt
    2.1 MB · Views: 462
Reactions: Jim abbatoy