Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

flew away!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by JLJ, Apr 27, 2015.

  1. JLJ

    JLJ

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB
    I had a flight away!!!!
    Still can't find it

    Wondering how is the warranty with dji?

    I have the last view in the fpv and looks like upside down
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Good luck!!
     
    claws likes this.
  3. Marlin009

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    West Coast of Florida
    They will probably want some info to back up a warranty claim.
     
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    .Hate to hear this JLJ ! I fixed your screenshot and it just looks to me the camera is pointing down when ya lost connection. A little more info on what happened when this happened would be helpful .
    jj.jpg
     
  5. yhern023

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    10
    Open Google maps. Try finding a house like that one. It seems that it could be on a tree. What was your location???


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  6. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,237
    Likes Received:
    916
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Other then it pointing towards the west shown in the image, it looks to me like it lost all communication between the device and quad. Everything in blank as it the app was accidentally backed out of and then unable to restart because the quad most likely landed and he was not able to get reception with the quad.

    It will not fly away and give wi-fi and nothing else.

    If the quad was set to return home point and did not show up, then it is likely the return home height was not set high enough to clear all obstacles in the area. So if this is indeed the case, should be easy to find. Just look at everything that is taller then the set return home setting between the quad last known location and where home was at during that flight.

    What app was being used? It possible there is a flight logger involved which would be a huge help! Btw, anyone reading this that does not have enough common sense to invest into a GPS Tracker, At least use a app that has a flight logger. There is no complete guarantee you will have the reason for all possibilities, but you'll have something that can show a lot of you would never have access to otherwise. I may not come off as a nice guy by speaking of common sense, but this happens to be something I have had to preach all so many times. If you are new to flying, make one of your 1st post in this forum as "What can I do to guarantee myself the most safest flying experience". Or do a search for such a type of thread. Or ask me either here or on my website as a last option.

    -Frank
     
    yorlik likes this.
  7. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    images4HKE7OJ0.jpg :eek: fly swatt.jpg Dang these outdoor bars are killing me o_O
    Yep Frank...Not enough common sense around these days ! Use a tracker folks !! ;)
    And thanks for the sermon Frank :)
     
  8. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,237
    Likes Received:
    916
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Of course you're not included in the need to know group. Your anniversary is coming up fast you know.
     
  9. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,689
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    images4HKE7OJ0.jpg :cool:
     
  10. LarasLTU

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    In addition to flight logger or gps tracker don't forget to record the screen of your phone/tablet - this is #1 prerequisite for me and it already helped me to get P2 replaced by DJI due to the facts provided from recorded video...
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  11. Adrian Morris

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    mine fell out of the sky a couple of days ago, it was only 4 weeks old and had done 14 flights, it was hovering and just dropped on one side and headed down like a missile, vanished out of site, I found it 20mins later it had hit a tree 200 metres away and fell to the ground, smashed to bits gimble and camera destroyed and 3 out of 4 of the motors melted into the frame. was obviously a dead short on one of the motors or a wire coming of the esc, Ive taken it back to dealer who has sent it back to dji ive mailed them 3 times now telling them I don't want it repaired or replaced as I have no confidence in the v3 now after reading all the crap about motors and esc faults and I'm demanding a refund as it was only 4 weeks old, and I want to get the phantom 3 which I hope will not have these issues, so far ive had no reply from dji
    Check out video on my site
    https://www.youtube.com/c/flightofthephantomuk
     
  12. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    I bet if you left a stock v3 out by itself on a crowded street somewhere for a day or two, you would find it with 10 foot pole marks all over it when you returned.
     
  13. Adrian Morris

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is it just me but I dont get that comment lol
     
  14. mad in nc

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    North Carolina US

    There is an old saying that goes - "wouldn't touch it with a ten foot pole"
     
  15. mad in nc

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    North Carolina US

    I'e been thinking of this - who knows and how is the best way to record the screen?
     
  16. Adrian Morris

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah yes now I understand, its just a shame I found this site after the crash or I would have been aware of these issues, but saying that the issues shouldn't exist anyway, item not fit for advertised purpose jumps to mind.
     
  17. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Then there shouldn't be any marks! LOL
     
  18. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    If you use android, the Mobizen app is your answer. It is sweet, free, and no root required. I and many others use it.
     
    mad in nc likes this.
  19. yorlik

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    91
    I tried mobizen and it insisted I sign up for some website so I threw it away.

    I am happy with 'recordable free'
     
  20. LarasLTU

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm using SCR 5+ Pro and phone has to be rooted.