First real problem I've had...

drm

Reaction score
I've been flying my P3P for about 14 months now. I've not had any malfunctions other than the usual newbie pilot errors and loss of video at a distance. A couple months ago I started using a reflector-type antenna booster on my controller, and have been able to go as far as one mile with reasonably good video signal.

Yesterday I felt I needed to exercise my skills (its been cold and windy) since the weather was nice. I headed out from my yard to about 1000 meters at about 50 meters altitude, maintaining good control and video feed, when suddenly DJI Go reported a compass error. My video feed looked like there was some loss of control for several moments, and the feed became intermittent. At this point I had visions of jumping in my truck and trudging through a field to pick up the pieces.

Since there was compass error, I thought I could not trust the yaw indicator on the app, so I managed to position the AC to where I could see my house in the video feed and headed (hopefully) toward home. The compass error went away, and I got it back to my yard and landed briefly. I had plenty of battery left, so I took off again and flew around, staying low and close to home with no trouble until until the battery warning appeared.

Between my location and the AC location when the problem occurred is a tall power transmission line. It was about 300 feet from where I was standing. I am aware of the potential for interference from power lines, and I can see how loss of control could occur, but could it cause a false 'compass error'?

EMI (electro-magnetic interference) from high-voltage power lines can cause compass errors. The compass works off the earth's magnetic field and anytime you are close enough to an artificial magnetic field it can affect the compass reading.