Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First flight issue with return to home P3P

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by GeoMike, Jan 2, 2016.

  1. GeoMike

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northborough, MA
    I just bought a p3 Pro. We updated the firm ware to the latest version ad I practiced on the simulator before my first flight. I have the P3 in beginner mode just until I get used to it. Today I tried my first flight. The temp was 37 degrees F. The wind was steady with occasional light/medium gusts. I went to the local high school sports field. It was clear and level. I was flying at about 8 to 10 feet and getting used to the controllers. The drone was approx 150 feet away and I tried the home function. We did set the compass and home point before the flight. Once I hit the home function the drone started to ascend straight up. I kept going up, and up. I could not control it until I cancelled the return to home function. Anyone have any ideas what happened. Was this a user error, did I miss an important step? Or is this something else????

    Thank you all for any help and tips for a newbie flier.

    Mike
     
  2. cowboycctx

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is what is supposed to do. When RTH is activated the Phantom will climb to the RTH altitude you set in the setting and then return to the home point.
     
    GeoMike likes this.
  3. AwfulPilot

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    If the drone is a certain distance away from the home point, it will ascend to a certain height before going towards its home position in order to avoid obstacles.

    Scary on the first couple of flights if you've been flying low altitude, then suddenly the drone starts going higher than you've yet dared to go yourself!
     
    GeoMike likes this.
  4. DownUnder

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    The RTH function will make the P3P ascend to a safe height to avoid trees so it's normal to shoot up if the height set for RTH is higher than the current height. There's a setting in the DJI software to set the RTH safe height. This probably catches us all out the first time.
     
    GeoMike likes this.
  5. West Coast Phantom Flyer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    You can set the height in which your bird will go to before heading home. as a safeguard in case you need to clear any obstructions. MC Settings/Advanced Settings/ Failsafe Mode: set height. I have mine set at 50 before returning home.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    GeoMike likes this.
  6. GeoMike

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northborough, MA
    Thank you all for your quick reply's. This makes me feel much better. I still plan to stay in a wide open sports type field for my first few flights. Thank you all again.

    Mike
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,764
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    The manual has three pages on RTH because it's probably the most important section to understand.
    There's a lot to learn but it isn't hard.
    Every flier should read and practice RTH so they understand how it works and how to use it when they need to - including cancelling and resuming control.
     
  8. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    You will want to take note around you of the highest object that you need to fly over and clear. Go into you app and in the settings set the RTH height 50 ft higher than the object(s) so you will be safe and clear incase you have to use that function. If you craft is flying higher that the RTH height it will stay at that level to do the RTH but if lower it will automatically climb to the setting.
     
  9. CCDD

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    US
    Hey Mike,
    Also in MA and these cold days haven't kept me from flying either. The RTH responded correctly as others have mentioned. Check your settings and you'll likely see what we're referring too. Let me know if you care to join up for some dual flying, not too far from Northborough. Enjoy
     
    GeoMike likes this.
  10. StumbleBee

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Nashua, NH USA
    You are doing the right thing in practicing! However your question indicates there may be other critical information you are not aware of. A thorough reading of the manual will help keep your bird safe. One other thing you need to know about RTH. If you are flying below the canopy, say at 10' above a forest trail, and RTH is activated (automatically due to some failure) the bird is going to go straight up...right into the trees. Don't ask. It was as close to disaster as I've come so far.
     
  11. Badfinger

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    S/W OHIO
    Been there done that. Boy the first time that happens it really gets the old pulse going!
    [​IMG]
     
  12. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Go to the dload section at dji.com or phantomhelp.com to get your manual
     
  13. Moose408

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    13
    One other thing to note. When it is in RTH mode you can still adjust the height with the left control stick. I don't know if it works on the initial climb, but afterwards you can control it.
     
  14. mcrazyhorse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yep been there, but mine was a little different because I had powered it on in my house then went outside to fly it, when I hit the home button it did what it was designed to do up, up , up then it tried to go to home which was inside my house so it hard landed on the roof. Fortunately I was able to catch it as it tumbled off the roof, had to replace the props very minor damage.
     
  15. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,764
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    You have a lot of reading to do.
    You'll find your manual here:
    Phantom 3 Professional - Specs, FAQ, Tutorials, Downloads and DJI GO | DJI
    You can also access it in the app.
     
    GeoMike likes this.
  16. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Don't try way point flying until you get proficient. From take off to first waypoint is on an angle from point a to point b and not up to altitude then to point b. If anything is is the way .... Bummer. There are tips on doing way point flying too.