Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First Crash - What to Check

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Hold Fast, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. Hold Fast

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    Crashed pretty hard today. I thought I had GPS but I guess by the time it took off, it lost it.
    Anyway, no major outside damage aside from 3 broken props but there was some rattling on the inside.
    Opened it up, and found the spacer and c-clip that secure motor shaft fell off.
    Put it back on and buttoned everything up.

    Now, the question is, is there anything that I can check through software to make sure all systems are working a OK before another flight? I did power it on inside of the house and I was getting green GPS lights which concerned me that it was indicating false-positive GPS signal.

    Thanks
     
  2. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,916
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Advanced calibration of the IMU. Check the calibration of the flight controls in the Phantom Assistant software. Check smooth rotation of motors. Check for play in the motors (take props off, try to wiggle threaded top of each motor, try to pull it up.) Calibrate compass. Do a test flight looking for anything unusual. Basic movements. Feel motors after flight for any differences in heat compared to others.
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    +1 on all of that

    Also, check to make sure the distance from prop tip to shell is the same on all props at the closest point between them, like in this pic:
    [​IMG]

    Sometimes a crash can cause a motor(s) to sit uneven in the mounts, which would be evident in that test.
     
  4. Hold Fast

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    Thanks! It appears that so far, everything checks out.
    One thing that I wasn't sure what it meant was when I tried advanced calibration, I got a message that the temperature is too high and that I should let it cool off and try again ...

    It was stone cold and calibration seems to have completed anyway.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The "FC temp too high" message is a known bug in the Assistant software, you can just keep clicking past it until it lets you complete the process.