Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Finnaly bit the bullet

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by mustang_52, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. mustang_52

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I finally decided to get the phantom 2 with gimbal and it's here! I did a compass calibration as per instructions but do I need to do anything else? I understand there is a stick calibration and some other stuff I'm probably missing. Do I need to di that before my first flight? Where do I find instruction s to do that if I do?

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  2. CJ31

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
  3. mustang_52

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok cool. I'll follow that video. I'm hoping for nicer weather so I can take it for its first flight. Thanks!

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  4. bernardb

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon Indiana
    Also download and read the manuals available on the DJI website...
     
  5. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    May I also suggest that you take some time to browse through this forum for as much information as possible before flying.
     
  6. tawd77

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read the manual fully, and make sure you dont descend too quickly. Also, try to keep some horizontal movement while descending, to further protect you from descending into you own propwash. Its a costly mistake that isnt well documented in the owners manual.
     
  7. mustang_52

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the manuals in hand. :)

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  8. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA

    +1

    I researched for months on here before even purchasing or posting.
     
  9. jodaddy23

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tucson arizona
    WHEN i got mine P2 i mounted the gimble , read the manual 3 times put a gopro on it and try it out . didn't down load anything for about 10 -15 flights .. worked like the manual said .
     
  10. Fink

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Coming from somebody who also just got their Phantom recently, I've had the darn thing for 10 days and have done nothing but charge the flight battery, install batteries in the transmitter and update the firmware. I've been reading documentation on this forum, the rest of the Interwebz and watching countless YouTube videos.

    The main thing that I've learned? Stay away from densely populated areas and TAKE YOUR TIME. Do I want to go out and get this thing in the air right here in the parking lot of my condo? Heck yes I do. Would that be smart? Not at all. There are 37 wireless networks within range of the parking lot with 33 of them being 2.4GHz. While I'm sure I'd be able to fly it just fine, I don't want to risk that many 2.4GHz signals interfering with anything. Plus there are power lines and trees everywhere. The patience thing also comes into play when actually getting to fly it for the first time - GPS lock is CRUCIAL. I've seen a lot of videos from dudes that are just using the Phantom to take pictures and they get the thing off the ground with the lights still flashing red and then wonder why they have such a hard time with it. Then comes all of the dreadful "fly away" chatter, etc.

    I'm actually hoping to get mine out today here in a bit. Weather is supposed to get worse later but it looks like I have a few hours to get out there. Heading to a huge park with three soccer fields that I'm betting won't be in use today with school being in session.

    Good luck!

    Fink[​IMG]
     
  11. mustang_52

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some great advice! I have been reading and watching video to get as much info as possible. I will make sure I het a GPS lock before I take off too. I plan on holding off installing the fumble and go pro until I get a few flights in. One thing I did notice is one of the props doesn't screw on easily like the others. It's not stripped but I do have to hold the motor to get it on. Don't know what that's about.

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  12. bernardb

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon Indiana
    I have the exact same thing on mine...has not been an issue at all :D
     
  13. Fink

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Flew mine for the first time two nights ago - 'twas awesome! Definitely let it go through its motions with GPS and such. Once you see the pulsing green LED flash and steady green flashes after that, you should be good.

    You are going to be shocked at how stable this thing is!

    Fink[​IMG]
     
  14. mustang_52

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed am i stoked! I took it out today and I can't believe how fun this thing is. Got a GPS lock and took off. Had no issues at all. I was a little scared going far son I just basically practiced with menuevering it around. It's time to mount the gopro! After a lot of practice I plans on going to a fpv setup so I can really take advantage of it.

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  15. mustang_52

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so I decided it was time to hook up the zenmuse gimbal and now I have a problem. I updated to the latest firmware and tried to calibrate the controller and there's no tilt control on the gimbal. I noteced before hooking up the gimbal that when I calibrated it didn't seem to register on the computer. Son I opened the controller to see if I could see if the slider was contacting the board but I had no success. I did howete turn it with a screwdriver and it works so im assuming it's just not lining up. So I'm sending the thing back for a replacement but I'd like to known if this is common or what else I should have tried?

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  16. Jezabel

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    After I did all the upgrades and then went back to do the calibrations on the controller, the gimbal switch (X1?) did not react much or travel far within the RC Controller X1 window. It also felt like it was not connected to anything since there is little to no friction. My camera would start upright and then point down when I turned on the P2.

    Others on this forum discovered that after you do the calibrations on the controller in RC software that you then have to go back into the P2 Assistant software and Re-calibrate the gimbal switch (X1?). Believe it or not, after you do this and power off and then back on, the gimbal switch WORKS!! I didn't believe it but followed the idea on this forum and also noted that DJI also states this in their directions for firmware updates. Whew, what a relief.
     
  17. Tahoe Ed

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    33
  18. Jezabel

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yep, what Tahoe Ed states WORKS!