Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Phantom 3 - Best new drone? Video overview and discussion...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dronecamps, Apr 8, 2015.

  1. dronecamps

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    6
    DJI Phantom 3 Official Release and overview.
    Could the Phantom 3 be the best small drone for 2015?

    You decide... What do you think?

     
    TMSmalley likes this.
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    "Best of 2015"... Seriously?
    Ahhhh... a bit premature don't ya think?

    Or are you just trying to drive up traffic, I mean sales???
     
  3. Narrator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Considering it's just been released, a stealthy promo can be forgiven. ;)
     
  4. Narrator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It does look a little confusing though. Two types of Vision.. one that can take stills and one that can take video. It doesn't look like both versions can take both video and stills.

    I might consider buying the camera and gimbal for my P2V+, if it can do both, and if it can retrofit.
     
  5. Coons84

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read on the website that the camera and gimbal are non removable. This seems pretty bad for the user. So if you crash your new p3 and bend the gimbal then your out the whole unit or at least you have to send the whole thing back to them to get fixed.
     
  6. Koz

    Koz

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    They both have the same specs and capabilities for still photos. The Pro version shoots 4K video while the Advance version maxes out at 1080p.
     
  7. Narrator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    That's pretty much the same as the P2V+
     
  8. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    So smaller battery and gets 23min flight time ? More weight with the new sensor . Autopilot because who wants to fly their machine ?
    The way he says how incredible it is they added light bridge to the for the price of the bird . The way I take that is they where over charging everyone that bought a light bridge .
    I won't buy anything that the cam dose not come off seems dji is doing away with us that use gopros . The flight time got me laughing can not wait till someone gets one and dose a hands on not reading the bs they say .
     
  9. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    Smaller???
    The P3 batt. actually has about 10 more watts or about 12% more capacity compared to the P2 batt.
     
  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Well no .. it's a bigger battery for a start.
    68 watt hours vs 57.7 Wh for the P2.
    It needs a bigger battery because it has to power a lot more. The lightbridge transmits video and control signal up to 2 kilometres and that takes juice.
     
  11. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    P3 owners are going to be either professionals or advanced users, they will never crash. Your piloting ability is clearly labelled on the front of the P3.
     
  12. locoworks

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    10
    the still shots on the DJI site have no noticeable fisheye but the camera has a 2.8 lens, have they been edited or does the new camera not have fisheye???

    I can see me selling a cheap P2V+
     
  13. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    new camera does not have fisheye
     
  14. RichWest

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    LOL....I'll wait for the "Top Gun" version then....
     
  15. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    Going off the vid posted he said 4400 as to the 5500 in previous P2 it'll be lighter ?
    Now mind you I am a redneck not a MC Square kinda guy so that maybe went over my head :( .
    Sorry buddy ;)
     
  16. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    I didn't watch the video.
    Here's the math:

    volts x capacity (mAh) = wattage

    Even though the P3 capacity is lower, the voltage is higher.

    In this case the P3 has more power (watts)
     
  17. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    The two cameras have lenses of different focal lengths.
    The new lens is a rectilinear (flat) wideangle with a field of view of 94º while the old camera had a fisheye lens with 140º FOV
    The new camera has an f2.8 lens - just like the P2V+ does
    BUT f2.8 has nothing to do with fisheye or field of view.
    It's a measure of how much light the lens gathers.
     
    locoworks likes this.
  18. offthefront

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
     
  19. locoworks

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    10
    thanks Meta4

    I think the best news is it runs on 2.4ghz so upgrading the transmitter to a regular brand and keeping FPV and camera control might be easier???
     
    #19 locoworks, Apr 10, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2015
  20. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    I doubt that you could use a different Tx and if you did not sure it would be an "upgrade" or why you would want to.
    The lightbridge units are quite sophisticated and include camera controls.
    It's most unlikely you can find a replacement that will handle the FPV video and work with the P3 app.
     
    #20 Meta4, Apr 10, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2015